James Madison University


Harrisonburg, VA

Founded in 1908 as a women’s college, James Madison University was established by the Virginia General Assembly. It was originally called The State Normal and Industrial School for Women at Harrisonburg. In 1914, the name of the university was changed to the State Normal School for Women at Harrisonburg. At first, academic offerings included only today’s equivalent of technical training or junior college courses; however authorization to award bachelor’s degrees was granted in 1916. During this initial period of development, the campus plan was established and six buildings were constructed.

The university became the State Teachers College at Harrisonburg in 1924 and continued under that name until 1938, when it was named Madison College in honor of James Madison, the fourth President of the United States whose Montpelier estate is located in nearby Orange, Virginia. In 1976, the university’s name was changed to James Madison University.

In 1946, men were first enrolled as regular day students. Dr. G. Tyler Miller became the third president of the university in 1949, following the retirement of Duke. During Miller’s administration, from 1949 to 1970, the campus was enlarged by 240 acres and 19 buildings were constructed. Major curriculum changes were made and the university was authorized to grant master’s degrees in 1954.

In 2012 a group of students looking to start a new fraternity on campus contacted Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters and on November 30, 2012 Coordinator of Chapter and Colony Development Jeremy Ried, Elmhurst ‘07 conducted a pledge ceremony for 10 new members.

The group officially chartered on May 3, 2014. The Ceremony was held at the Blue Ridge Event Center in Harrisonburg, Virginia. Grand Councilor Byron Hughes, Salisbury ‘06, gave the Keynote Address. Notable attendees included: Jeremy Ried, Elmurst ‘07 (Fraternity Staff), and Richard Durham, Longwood ‘81. Joseph Scholnick, James Madison ‘13, was the founding president.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2017 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022, 2021, 2019, 2018

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Derek Russell Haynie 2021 Marvin A Chapman Scholarship