Seton Hall University


South Orange, NJ

Seton Hall University was founded by the Newark Diocese as Seton Hall College in 1856, and is the oldest diocesan Roman Catholic University in the United States. Its College of Medicine and Dentistry was the oldest in New Jersey, but became a state school in 1965. The College became a university in 1950 and fully coeducational in 1968.

Zeta Alpha began in the fall of 2009, as a small group of men that did not feel they fit with existing fraternity chapters. These men wanted to bring a new fraternity to Seton Hall with high standards to which they held themselves.

Aaron Franke, Seton Hall ‘11, brother of former Fraternity Staff member Josh Franke, Otterbein ‘06, encouraged the group to study the vision, history and values of Alpha Sigma Phi. They contacted Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters and rapidly grew their group of interested men to 30, who were officially designated as a colony in February of 2010.

The Colony quickly gained acceptance and popularity with students, faculty and other Greek organizations at Seton Hall. When the group submitted their petition for charter to the Grand Council for consideration, it contained several letters of support.

Twenty-seven new members were initiated into the Zeta Alpha Chapter at Seton Hall University on January 22, 2011, and had the distinction of starting a new series of Greek letter chapter designations becoming the Zeta Alpha Chapter. Grand Councilor John Tilden, Binghamton ‘93, Seton Hall Grand Chapter Advisor Humberto Baquerizo, NJIT ‘91, Montclair Grand Chapter Advisor Thomas Reynolds, NJIT ‘03, Rutgers Grand Chapter Advisor Sam Patel, Member-at- Large ‘06, and Coordinator of Chapter Development Adam Koorn, Ohio Wesleyan ‘08, were all present to assist with the Initiation Ceremony and participate in the Chartering Banquet. The Initiation Ceremony was held at Fahy Hall and the Chartering Ceremony was held at the Bishop Dougherty University Center. Andrew Felbinger, Seton Hall ‘11, was the Founding President. 

T.J. Brennan, Seton Hall ‘11, served on Fraternity Staff as a Coordinator of Expansion and Coordinator of Chapter Development.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2018, 2017 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2022
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2016, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Benjamin A Ayzenberg 2012 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Andre Jude Bakhos 2017 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Andrew Fisher Felbinger 2011 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Christian Alexander Milano 2017 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Max Anthony Zeller 2020 Undergraduate Hall of Fame