The Ohio State University


Columbus, OH

The Ohio State University was founded in 1870 as a land-grant university and is currently the third largest university campus in the United States. There are indications that the Delta Chapter made efforts at installing a chapter at Ohio State University in the 1880’s, without success. In 1907, however, graduate school students who were alumni of Delta Chapter were able to foster development of an interest group which grew and was chartered as Zeta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi on May 15, 1908. For years prior to World War II the chapter house was at 130 E. Woodruff Avenue. Jim Taylor was the only Alpha Sig on Ohio State’s campus during World War II. He kept the chapter “open” during the war and left Zeta Chapter as one of very few that has been open continuously for over 100 years. After World War II the chapter’s first house was at 2005 Summit Street. Since about 1950, Zeta’s house has been at 81 Fifteenth Avenue, Columbus.

Zeta Chapter has hosted Conventions of the Fraternity in 2004, 1988, 1923, and 1911. Zeta Chapter also hosted the National Leadership Conference in 1983. Zeta Chapter won the Alpha Kappa Pi Award in 1962, the Gary Anderson Award in 2002 and 2004, the Manigault Award for Ritual Exemplification in 2008, the Chapter Newsletter Award in 1972, Summa Cum Laude Awards for 1973-74, 1963-64, 1961-62, and 1959-60, and Scholarship Improvement Awards in 1959-60, and 1952-54.

Jared Lindsay, Ohio State ‘01, received the 2005 Frank F. Hargear Award, and was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Year in 2004. Kent H. Johnston, Ohio State ‘56; Tad H. Koch, Ohio State ‘62, were also Alpha Sigma Phi Scholars of the Year in 1957, and 1963, respectively.  Andrew R. Glynn, Ohio State ‘07, and Jeffrey R. Corcoran, Ohio State ‘06 won Kleinoeder Graduate Scholarships in 2010 and 2008. Zeta Chapter’s newsletter in recent years has been “The Zeta Phoenix”; it was previously “The Pen and Book of Zeta.”

Four Zeta Initiates, Robert E. Blosser, Ohio State ‘14, Lewis Morrill, Ohio State ‘11, George W. Oakes, Ohio State ‘08, and D. Luther Evans, Ohio State ‘49, have served on the Grand Council of Alpha Sigma Phi. Hon. Paul M. Herbert, Ohio State ‘09, James L. Morrill, Ohio State ‘11, have been awarded the Distinguished Merit Award of Alpha Sigma Phi. Dan Duncan, Ohio State ‘00, served on the Fraternity staff from 2002 through August 2009. Twenty-three initiates of Zeta Chapter have received the Delta Beta Xi Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2017, 2014 
Most Improved Chapter Award 2008
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2016, 2015 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Blake Michael Adams 2022 Kenn and Carol Ann Parsons Scholarship
Harold C. Blakeslee 1920 Delta Beta Xi Award
Parker Zaner Bloser 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert Bloser 1914 Delta Beta Xi Award
Earl L. Bougher 1925 Delta Beta Xi Award
W. Bruce Burns 1963 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Randall E. Cesco 1969 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jeffrey Robert Corcoran 2006 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Daniel Edward Duncan, II 2000 Delta Beta Xi Award
D. Luther Evans 1914 Delta Beta Xi Award
John S. Evans 1909 Delta Beta Xi Award
Chauncey B. Forward 1948 Delta Beta Xi Award
Gregory Paul Ghirardi 1998 Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
    Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Andrew R. Glynn 2007 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Louis F. Gump 1931 Delta Beta Xi Award
Paul M. Herbert 1909 Distinguished Merit Award
Harold A. Herman 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert C. Higgy 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Arthur C. Jahn 1927 Delta Beta Xi Award
John R. Kasich 1973 Distinguished Merit Award
David E. Leasure 1965 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jared Edward Linsley 2001 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Charles R. McLean 1953 Delta Beta Xi Award
James Lewis Morrill 1911 Distinguished Merit Award
Paul C. Morrison 1926 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ned D. Potts 1928 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard C. Roth 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harold K. Schellenger 1923 Delta Beta Xi Award
Timothy J. Schulien 1984 Delta Beta Xi Award
I. B. Taylor, Jr. 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
John D. Wejman 1998 Delta Beta Xi Award