Northern Arizona University


Flagstaff, AZ

On April 22, 2017, 81 men were initiated into the brotherhood and the interest group was installed as the Theta Chi Provisional Chapter at Northern Arizona University. Assisting the Coordinator of Chapter Development Samir Hafiz, Pi Kappa Alpha ‘10, and their Grand Chapter Advisor, Francis Espiritu, UC-Davis ‘12, with the initiation were the following members: Timm Davis, Iowa State ‘79; Geroga Gulumian, Arizona State ‘17; Liam Gorman, Arizona State ‘17; Mateus Bonorion, Arizona State ‘17; Quinn Hill, Arizona State ‘17; Gavin Mumm, Arizona State ‘17; Lenny Joseph Drago, Arizona State ‘17; Anthony King, Arizona State ‘15; Angel Saravia, Arizona State ‘15; Andrew Gatto, Arizona State ‘17; and Gus Laurin, Arizona State ‘17. The Silent Dinner and Initiation Ceremony took place in the Flagstaff Federated Community Church on Aspen Ave. in Flagstaff, AZ. Joshua Clay, Northern Arizona ‘17 was the Installing President. Eleven more men were initiated the following week.

The Chartering Ceremony was held on April 21, 2018, officially recognizing the Theta Chi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. The ceremony was held at the DoubleTree Suites in Phoenix, AZ. Grand Treasurer Tom Brown, Indiana ‘75, served as the Installing Officer. Ryan Kolter, UW – Whitewater ‘13, represented the Fraternity Staff. Makai Lui, Northern Arizona ‘17, was the Chapter President at the time of chartering. Hon. Bob Kutz, UC-Berkeley ‘67 was also in attendance.

Since Chartering in April 2018 the Theta Chi Chapter had the largest expansion in organizations history, is the fastest to charter in NAU fraternal history, and fastest to achieve The Alpha Kappa Pi: Gold Cup Award (2017-18) in fraternity history. 

“The passing of the NAU stump” is one of their traditions at the Theta Chi Chapter. They pass down a cut branded log from one of the beautiful pines in Flagstaff, AZ. It is a representation of passing the torch down from president to president.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018