Stanford University


Stanford, CA

The Alverado Club, formed in 1915, was installed as the Tau Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi by William J. Cooper, California 1913, in ceremonies at the Nu Chapter (California) house in Berkeley, on December 22, 1917. 

The Alverado Club had a house at 16 Alverado Row from 1916 to 1918. The Chapter built and occupied a house at 534 Salvatierra Street from May 1918 until 1965, when the University took the house as part of a site for University Library construction. The 18 Alvarado Row house had a capacity of 28 residents. From 1965 to 1967, the Chapter used a former chapter house of a suspended fraternity on a temporary basis. A new chapter house was built on University land in 1966-67, and Tau Chapter moved into that house in the Cowell Cluster in 1967. 

Tau Chapter won the first Grand Senior President’s Award in 1960. In the 1960’s, demand for on-campus housing at Stanford exceeded available supply and the University required that fraternity chapter membership exceed capacity for retention of the fraternity on-campus facility. The Chapter felt unable to assure that membership would exceed capacity and authorized the University to assign residents to the house on a preference basis. After passage of Title IX, the University required houses receiving assigned students to accept residents without discrimination as to gender. The Chapter’s housing thus became co-educational in 1970. Further pressures led the Chapter to operate its business meetings and house, at least, on a fully co-educational basis. On three occasions, Tau Chapter proposed amendments to the Fraternity Constitution which would have allowed co-educational chapter membership and operations; all were rejected. In 1983, the Chapter, preferring its co-ed operations to compliance with the Fraternity Constitution, surrendered its charter. The chapter newsletter was “Tau Talks.” Tau’s roster contains the names of 844 initiates through 1983.

Four members of the Tau Chapter have served on the Grand Council of Alpha Sigma Phi. Emmett Hayes, Stanford ‘31, served as Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi from 1954 to 1956, and has been awarded the Distinguished Service Award. Floyd Mosiman, Stanford 1917, past Grand Secretary of Alpha Sigma Phi has also received the Distinguished Service Award. Twenty-five Tau alumni have been awarded the Delta Beta Xi Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Grand Senior President's Cup 1960

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Richard B. Byrne, DMin 1960 Delta Beta Xi Award
Fernando Hap Caneer 1919 Delta Beta Xi Award
Everett H. Claiborne 1933 Delta Beta Xi Award
Frank H. Cowgill 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harold E. Craig 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
George H. Edgell 1937 Delta Beta Xi Award
William C. Fundenberg 1912 Delta Beta Xi Award
Norman R. Hamilton 1947 Delta Beta Xi Award
Emmet B. Hayes 1931 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Myron C. Higby 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
Wesley M. Hine 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Leslie W. Hobson 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
Hugh R. Hollembeak 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harold K. Hotchkiss 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joubert B. Hurd 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Arthur C. Hurt, Jr. 1927 Delta Beta Xi Award
John D. Leland 1953 Delta Beta Xi Award
Frank Miller 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
Henry F. Mills 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
James E. Moore, Jr. 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
Floyd W. Mosiman 1917 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Niels Schultz 1935 Delta Beta Xi Award
Dana K. Smith 1926 Delta Beta Xi Award
Peter Sylvester 1950 Delta Beta Xi Award
Dwight D. Young 1920 Delta Beta Xi Award