University of California, Berkeley


Berkeley, CA

The College of California was founded in 1860. When the Morrill Land Grant College Act was passed, the College offered its assets to the state if the legislature would charter a comprehensive university instead of an agricultural and mechanical institution. The offer was accepted and the University opened in 1868. Martin Kellogg, Alpha 1847, past editor of the Yale Tomahawk, was one of the first four faculty members appointed to the new university. He became Dean of the Faculty, three-time Acting President of the University and President of the University from 1890 to 1899. Daniel Coit Gilman, Alpha 1854, served as President of the University of California from 1872 to 1875; Gilman then accepted the inaugural presidency of Johns Hopkins University.

In 1901, a group of students came together as an eating club on the Cal Campus, and by 1904 this group coalesced into a local fraternity, the Atherton Club. In November of 1912, the members of the Atherton Club petitioned Alpha Sigma Phi for a charter. The petition was granted and on February 1, 1913, the Chapter was installed by Carl B. Croson, Harvard 1911. William Cooper, California 1913, was toastmaster; Hiram Gear, Marietta 1862, and Rev. Frank Brush, Marietta 1875, spoke of the Old Gal; Ed Locher, Atherton Club 1907, told the tale of the shaggy dog, and Alfred Soloman, Atherton Club 1904, gave the history of the Atherton Club.

Frank Foli Hargear, California 1918, served as Associated Students (ASUC) President, business manager of the college newspaper, and editor-in-chief of the yearbook. As ASUC President, he and his counterpart at Leland Stanford University entered into an agreement allowing resumption of the annual football contest between the schools. The Big Game had been suspended for several years because of a dispute over freshman eligibility. Upon graduation, Hargear led the fund drive for a permanent chapter house built at 2739 Channing Way, Berkeley, California. The chapter used the 2739 Channing Way house from 1920 to 1969. Anti-establishment sentiments arising in response to the unpopular Vietnam War led to closure of the chapter in 1969. The roster at that time contained 718 names.

In April of 1981, Steve Allison, California ‘82, and Rob Sheehan, Westminster ‘76, recruited an interest group which became a colony in May of 1981, and was re-chartered by Grand Councilor Edmund Hamburger, NY Polytechnic ‘45, on February 27, 1982. The colony was housed at Bancroft and Bowditch. In 1983, the Chapter moved to its present house at 2498 Piedmont Avenue, Berkeley. The house was extensively remodeled in 2018. The chapter newsletter since 1981 has been “Notissima.”

Seven members of the chapter served on the Grand Council or Grand Prudential Committee of Alpha Sigma Phi. William John Cooper, California 1913, served as Grand Senior President from 1932 to 1935. Most recently, Brian Thomas, California ‘06, served as Undergraduate Grand Councilor, 2008-2010.

Frank F. Hargear, California 1918, served as Grand Secretary 1923-1925, and 1937-1940, and as Grand Marshal 1950-1958. Hargear is credited with suggesting that Delta Beta Xi be made an alumni service award; he received the Distinguished Service Award in 1965, and the Frank F. Hargear Memorial Award is named in his honor to recognize outstanding undergraduate brothers annually from among all Alpha Sigma Phi chapters.

Forty-two Nu Chapter alumni have received the Delta Beta Xi Award. Listed below are brothers who served as directors and officers of the California Alpha Sigma Phi Association for over fifty years: Maitland McKenzie, California 1922, Eugene Strugis, California 1913, and Waldemar Augustine, California 1922. At the 55th Grand Chapter in 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana, Hon. Bob Kutz, California ‘67, was awarded the Stan Thurston Lifetime Achievement award for his many years of service to the Fraternity. Kutz was the first alumni to receive this award, apart from Stan Thurston himself in 2017.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2015, 2013, 2010 
Most Improved Chapter Award 2008
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Waldemar R. Augustine 1922 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Trevor Reid Bausman 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
Albert George Biehl 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
F Warde Brand 1920 Delta Beta Xi Award
Philip S. Breck 1935 Delta Beta Xi Award
Theodore T. Bryant 1930 Delta Beta Xi Award
Guy A. Clarke 1931 Delta Beta Xi Award
Austin T. Cushman 1921 Distinguished Merit Award
Paul L. Davies 1917 Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Frank R. Denke 1926 Delta Beta Xi Award
Henry A. Dietz, USNR(Ret) 1925 Delta Beta Xi Award
John F. Doane 1936 Delta Beta Xi Award
J. Edward Drew 1916 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph A. Epstein 1997 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ralph G. Follis 1919 Distinguished Merit Award
Roland D. Fontana, Jr. 1927 Delta Beta Xi Award
Paul L. Fussell 1914 Delta Beta Xi Award
Michael J. Halloran 1959 Distinguished Merit Award
Frank Foli Hargear 1918 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas R. Harris 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles DeB. Haseltine 1927 Delta Beta Xi Award
Allan M. Herrick 1913 Delta Beta Xi Award
H. H. Howard 1916 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert Wade Kutz 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Stan Thurston Lifetime Achievement Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
Thomas J. Ledwich 1913 Delta Beta Xi Award
Oren Levy 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award
Philip S. Mathews 1916 Delta Beta Xi Award
J. Brian McCarthy 1957 Delta Beta Xi Award
Maitland B. McKenzie 1922 Delta Beta Xi Award
Herbert H. Mensing 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
James J. Mongan, M.D. 1960 Distinguished Merit Award
Milton W. Morrison, Jr. 1937 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Arash F. Nayeri 2009 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
William S. Needham 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
Garrett F. Riegg 1966 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert D. Riegg 1958 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Daniel Takashi Sakai 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award
John C. Schick 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
Paul B. Schroeder, Esq. 1989 Delta Beta Xi Award
A. Brodie Smith 1915 Delta Beta Xi Award
Roland Spickermann, Ph.D. 1982 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Eugene King Sturgis 1913 Delta Beta Xi Award
Brian Kingsmill Thomas 2006 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Trusten P. Wadsworth 1917 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Minor K. White, USA 1956 Delta Beta Xi Award
Everett M. Witzel 1937 Delta Beta Xi Award
Miles F. York 1919 Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Chih-Kang W. Yu, Esq. 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award