St. Mary's University

San Antonio, TX

Expansion efforts at St. Mary’s University were started in spring 2017. 

The Provisional Chapter Ceremony was conducted on April 8, 2017 by Assistant Director Grothause and was attend by the Grand Chapter Advisor and guests from the Theta Iota Chapter at Texas State University and the Eta Theta Chapter at University of Texas – San Antonio. John Paul Coronado, St. Mary’s 17 was the installing president. 

On April 9, 2017, 20 men were initiated into the Iota Beta Provisional Chapter. The initiation was led by Assistant Director of Chapter Development Jay Grothause, Bowling Green ’10. The initiation ceremony was assisted by Joe Gutierrez, Texas State ’15; Dallas Johnson, Texas State ’15; Asher Roger, Texas State ’16; Sebastian Ruiz, UT-San Antonio ’17 and  Miguel Fall, UT-San Antonio, 17. Iota Beta’s Grand Chapter Advisor Gary Helwig, IIT ’67 was also in attendance. The initiation took place in the University Center on the campus of St. Mary’s University.