Cornell University


Ithaca, NY

Cornell University was founded in 1865 by Ezra Cornell and Andrew Dickson White, Yale 1853. The land grant university was intended to teach and make contributions in all fields of knowledge from the classics to the sciences and from the theoretical to the applied. The petition of ten Cornell University students for a charter was approved on February 13, 1909.

On March 26, 1909, the ten charter members traveled to New Haven for initiation. One of the candidates, Warner, became separated from the rest and a night long search ensued. Warner was ultimately found in a Yale brother’s room awaiting instructions. Iota Chapter was installed on March 27, 1909.

The Chapter’s initial quarters were at 408 Stewart Street. This was followed by a house at 636 Stewart. On April 1, 1913, Iota Chapter obtained its house known as Rockledge.

Rockledge, at 804 Stewart Avenue, has served Alpha Sigma Phi at Cornell for over 98 years, longer than any other Alpha Sigma Phi chapter house. It was extensively remodeled in 1926, and renovations have followed periodically since. In 1980, an $80,000.00 remodeling job was carried out.

Iota Chapter had the highest GPA of any fraternity at Cornell University in 2003-2004. Iota Chapter’s newsletter is the “Iota Sig”.

Nine alumni of Iota Chapter, including Francis Boland, Cornell ‘42 have served on the Grand Council or Grand Prudential Committee of Alpha Sigma Phi. Andrew D. White, Yale 1853, was President of Cornell University from its opening to 1885, and served as Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi. Stephen P. Toadvine, Cornell ‘19, was instrumental in establishing Alpha Sigma Phi chapters at Syracuse University, Davis and Elkins College, and Penn Military College (now Widener University), served on the Grand Council, and as G.C.A. to the Gamma Xi and 

Omicron Chapters. Nicholas Gordon, Cornell ‘10, served as an Undergraduate Grand Councilor. In December of 2012, Doug Jones, Cornell ‘09, joined the Fraternity staff.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2012, 2011 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2016 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1994, 1992
Most Improved Chapter Award 2011
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2015, 2014, 2013 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Samuel Wright Bodman 1957 Distinguished Merit Award
Francis J. Boland 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
J. Kenneth Boos 1919 Delta Beta Xi Award
Glenn J. Corsini 1973 Delta Beta Xi Award
Leicester W. Fisher 1915 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles J. Fox 1909 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard J. Grousset 1995 Delta Beta Xi Award
Gerald P. Linsner 1955 Delta Beta Xi Award
Linn Miao Lung 2005 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Whinfield D. Melville 1960 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph Minogue 1946 Delta Beta Xi Award
Frank P. Proto 1964 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ralph G. Starke 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ratan N. Tata 1956 Distinguished Merit Award
Stephen Toadvine 1919 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mark J. Twentyman 1970 Delta Beta Xi Award
Brian S. Wasserman 2002 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Dean C. Wiggins 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
Spencer E. Young 1911 Delta Beta Xi Award
Lorin W. Zeltner 1915 Delta Beta Xi Award