Bowling Green State University


Bowling Green, OH

Bowling Green State University was founded as Bowling Green Normal College in 1910. It has since grown to a comprehensive university offering over 200 undergraduate programs to over 20,000 students. In 1946 the Rover Club was organized at Bowling Green State University. A year later the group split with part becoming Chi Alpha and the balance of the members becoming a chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, a service fraternity.  Chi Alpha received University recognition in February 1948, and was admitted to the IFC in April 1949. In 1950, Chi Alpha’s petition for a charter in Alpha Sigma Phi was accepted, and the chapter was installed on June 3, 1950. The chapter succumbed to enrollment disruptions resulting from the Korean War, and, having initiated 88 members closed in 1954.

On October 6, 1963, Delta Lambda was formed as a local fraternity by 17 students. In February 1964, Delta Lambda was granted associate membership in the campus IFC. In the summer of 1964, Delta Lambda submitted a petition for charter in Alpha Sigma Phi. That Fall semester, the group moved into on campus housing in Fraternity Row, the current and continuously occupied Gamma Zeta Chapter house. No other fraternity at BGSU has been housed in the same house longer than the Gamma Zeta chapter. On October 3, 1964 the group was formally colonized in ceremonies at the University of Toledo’s Beta Rho Chapter. On March 13, 1965, the chapter was re-chartered; Grand Junior President John L. Blackburn, Missouri Valley ‘49, was keynote speaker at the re-installation banquet. Executive Secretary Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, Grand Treasurer Ray Glos, Illinois ‘22, Grand Councilor Gardner Mason, Michigan ‘17, and Grand Province Chief Al Wise, Baldwin Wallace ‘42 attended.

In the fall of 1996, with membership numbers shrinking to below 20 and with vacancies in the chapter house, causing the University to threaten to evict the chapter, Gamma Zeta recruited 13 men in the fall semester and Brian Perry, Bowling Green ‘93 was elected Homecoming King. The following fall, the chapter recruited a record 25 men and that spring, went on to win the first of three consecutive Chapter Excellence Awards at BGSU. In the 1998 fall semester, the chapter recruited an additional 24 men and for the next two years, swept all chapter awards at the annual Greek Awards banquet, including Greek Week Champions, Philanthropy Cup Champions, Academic Achievement, etc. That same fall semester, the chapter held a Mud Volleyball Philanthropy, partnering with the Air Force ROTC, and raised more than $1,000 for Canine Companions for Independence. The chapter also held their first annual “Bike for the Heart” a  philanthropic event to raise money for the American Heart Association. That event also raised more than $1,000 for charity. Today, both philanthropic events are still hosted by the chapter.

In 1999 and 2000, Joe Reece, Bowling Green ‘97 and Steve Swaggerty, Bowling Green ‘98 were Presidents of the IFC. In 1999, five of the seven positions on IFC were held by members of the Gamma Zeta Chapter.

In October 2000, the chapter commemorated their 50th anniversary with a Homecoming celebration attended by nearly 100 brothers and more than a dozen founding fathers. The weekend long celebration kicked off with a reception in the President’s Suite at the football stadium and culminated with a banquet at the Elk’s Lodge.

In 2005, the chapter and alumni raised $90,490 as part of their To Better the Man Campaign for scholarships and funding of a chapterleadership program. This effort sparked the creation of the Development Committee, a standing committee of the Gamma Zeta Alumni Association.

In 2004-2005 chapter members Aaron Shumaker and Bernard Little were President and Vice president of the BGSU Undergraduate Student Government.

The chapter has won Grand Senior President’s Awards in 2008, 2006, 2004 and 1998; the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Award in 2002 and 1982; the Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup Award in 2010 Gary Anderson Awards for 1989, 1993, and 2000, the Service Award in 2002, the Summa Cum Laude Award in 1991, and the Scholarship Improvement Award in 1973.

Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96, and Matt Bowles, Bowling Green ‘01, received  Frank F. Hargear Awards in 1998  and 2004, respectively. Glenn Mc Bride, Bowling Green ‘06, and Greg Stoner, Bowling Green ‘99, were Alpha Sigma Phi Scholars of the Year in 2008 and 1999. The chapter newsletter is “The Black Lantern.”

Ed Leedom, Bowling Green ‘86, Joseph Zimmerman, Bowling Green ‘77, Larry Philippi, Bowling Green ‘76, and Matt Maurer, Bowling Green ‘03 have served on the Grand Council.  Matt Maurer, Bowling Green ‘03 and Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96, served as Undergraduate Grand Councilors. Craig Briner, Bowling Green ‘72, served as an Undergraduate Advisor to the Grand Council. Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96 is President and Chief Executive Officer of Alpha Sigma Phi. Larry Philippi, Bowling Green ‘76, Ryan Dunham, Bowling Green ‘88, Glen Olson, Bowling Green ‘92, Josh Wymer, Bowling Green ‘98, Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ‘03, Steve Dutton, Bowling Green ‘04, Adam Kowalski, Bowling Green ‘08, Jay Grothause, Bowling Green ‘10, Seth Melchor, Bowling Green ‘10, Jon Wray, Bowling Green ‘14 and Mike Campbell, Bowling Green ‘13, have also served on the Fraternity staff. 

Matt Maurer, Bowling Green ‘03, currently serves as the Grand Senior President.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2020, 2019, 2013 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018
Grand Senior President's Cup 2008, 2006, 2004, 1998
Most Improved Chapter Award 2002, 1982
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2012, 2010 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Gregory Paul Amend 2000 Delta Beta Xi Award
John P. Asendorf 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award
Lee M. Blakemore 1952 Delta Beta Xi Award
Matthew Richard Bowles 2001 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas P. Cahoon, Ph. D. 1984 Delta Beta Xi Award
William A. Cameron 1950 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mike Kevin Campbell 2013 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Thomas R. Dedrick 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
Steve Dutton 2004 Delta Beta Xi Award
Donald C. Flegal 1965 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jay Paul Richard Grothause 2010 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Gordon F. Heminger, III 1996 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Matthew David Humberger 2003 Delta Beta Xi Award
Kevin S. Konecny 1999 Delta Beta Xi Award
David Robert Kreienkamp 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ed G. Leedom, CFP 1986 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
Matthew Steven Maurer 2003 Delta Beta Xi Award
Glen D. Olson 1992 Delta Beta Xi Award
Larry David Philippi 1976 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert Allen Wade 1983 Delta Beta Xi Award
Franklyn H. Wahl 1966 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph R. Zimmerman 1977 Delta Beta Xi Award