Barton College


Wilson, NC

The college was established in 1902 by the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), as Atlantic Christian College, and was renamed Barton College in 1990. Sigma Alpha local fraternity was established in 1925.  When national fraternities were allowed to enter Atlantic Christian College, Sigma Alpha chose to petition Alpha Sigma Phi. After a year of colony status, the chapter was chartered in May 1958. Grand Senior President Charles Akre, Iowa ‘25, Past Grand Senior President Wilbur H. Cramblet, Yale ‘12, and Executive Secretary Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32 installed the chapter. Alpha Sigma Phi was one of the first three national fraternities to enter Atlantic Christian. The chapter’s house in the early 1960’s was at 109 N. Roundtree Street, Wilson, North Carolina. In 1968 the chapter purchased its present house at 902 W. Gold Street. The house was extensively remodeled during the 1970’s. The house accommodates 15 residents.  “Gamma Lambda Gazette” is the chapter newsletter.

The chapter received the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Award in 1968, the Summa Cum Laude Award for 1969-70, and the Tomahawk Award for 1969.  William Rasberry, Jr., Barton ‘58, served as chapter advisor and Grand Province Chief; he received the Delta Beta Xi Award and the Distinguished Service Award.  J. Warren Smith, III, Barton ‘90, received the Frank Foli Hargear Award in 1992, served as an Undergraduate Advisor to the Grand Council, and served as a chapter leadership consultant on the Fraternity’s staff. Allan Stallings also served as an Undergraduate Advisor to the Grand Council. Steve Hutchins, Gamma Lambda, was president of the Student Government Association in 1987-88. Norman L. Etheridge, Barton ‘58, J. Ross Albert, Barton ‘65, Lawrence Faircloth, Barton ‘59, Allen R. Stallings, Barton ‘73, Dr. John Dunn, Barton ‘59, Jerry Sledge, Barton ‘74, Russell T. Rawlings, Barton, ‘77, and J. Warren Smith, III, Barton ‘90 have also received the Delta Beta Xi Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Most Improved Chapter Award 1968

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Jones R. Albert 1965 Delta Beta Xi Award
Benjamin Ivey Bridgers 2000 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas G. Carr 1975 Delta Beta Xi Award
Whit Douglas Coolbaugh 1999 Delta Beta Xi Award
John W. Dunn 1959 Delta Beta Xi Award
Norman L. Etheridge 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
Lawrence Odell Faircloth 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
Edwin A. Rasberry, Jr MD 1958 Varner Distinguished Service Award
Edwin A. Rasberry, Jr MD 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
Russell T. Rawlings 1976 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jerry M. Sledge, CPA 1974 Delta Beta Xi Award
James Warren Smith, III 1990 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
James Warren Smith, III 1990 Delta Beta Xi Award
Allen R. Stallings 1973 Delta Beta Xi Award
Warren R. Tait 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award