University of Arizona


Tucson, AZ

Founded in 1885, the University of Arizona was the first university in the Arizona Territory. It is the Morrill Land Grant College for the territory and state. It has grown to enroll over 42,100 students in 334 fields of study. 

The Alpha Sig Club was organized at University of Arizona in the fall of 1954. The first social function was a Black and White formal on December 4, 1954. The colony progressed rapidly to chartering on May 7, 1955. The installation was made by Grand Senior President Emmet B. Hayes, Stanford ‘31, with Alumni Secretary William Holmes, Purdue ‘44, representing the Fraternity Staff. At the ceremony, Frank Cowgill, Stanford 1917, presented the Delta Beta Xi Award to J. R. Picard, Illinois ‘26. Robert C. Beck, Arizona ‘55, was President of the colony and J. L. Barber, Arizona ‘55, was the Founding Chapter President. Eleven chapters were represented at the chartering banquet, the Oregon State Chapter (Psi) having the largest delegation.  Paul Riddle, Miami (FL) ‘52, was present and presented a baby rattle to the newest chapter. The Chapter won the Scholastic Improvement Award for 1965-66.

In 1961, the Chapter moved from a ranch somewhat distant from campus to the former Alpha Tau Omega house at 841 North Tyndall, Tucson, Arizona. The following year it moved to 1614 E. First Street, Tucson, Arizona. The anti-establishment sentiment in the Vietnam War era and a rift in chapter membership over policy, led to the chapter’s inactivity in 1970. The roster contained 104 names. “Sig’s Scuttlebut” and “Gamma Eye” were chapter newsletters. In 1990, Anthony Litvac, Stevens Tech ‘89, recruited an interest group at the University but the group did not achieve colony status. 

Renewed efforts to restore the chapter began in August of 2011. In the fall of 2011, Fraternity Staff member Geoff McDonald, Hartwick ‘05, recruited an interest group of 53 members. Alumni of the Chapter and other Alpha Sigs in the Tucson area strongly supported the effort. Gamma Iota was officially recolonized on October 26, 2011. The colony was active on campus conducting fundraisers, community service events and philanthropy activities. On December 6, 2011, 51 undergraduates were initiated into the colony.

The group re-chartered on April 28, 2012. Undergraduate Grand Councilor Nick Gordon, Cornell ‘10, presented the charter; Geoff McDonald, Hartwick ‘05, represented the Fraternity Staff. Notable attendees included: Director of Chapter Development Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ‘03, President and CEO Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96, and Undergraduate Grand Councilor Nicholas Gordon, Cornell ‘10. The ceremony was held at the Bear Down Gym. Marc Small, Arizona ‘12, was the Re-founding President. 

Director of Chapter Development for Alpha Sigma Phi, Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ‘03, remarked: “The men of the newly-organized chapter have demonstrated a true commitment to Alpha Sigma Phi and have set high standards and lofty goals for their new group. Existing on such a large campus, they have committed to high performance inacademics and recruitment, while immersing themselves into the Greek community on campus.”

The Gamma Iota Chapter at the University of Arizona saw the most recruitment success of any chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi in the 2014-15 academic year. Their 49 new members in the fall, and 68 new members throughout the course of the year, made Gamma Iota second-to-none. However, the Chapter was sanctioned for risk management violations in 2015 and 2016. Fall recruitment in 2016 brought 34 new members and totaled a chapter size of 117.

In February of 2018, the Fraternity made the decision to close the Gamma Iota Chapter due to multiple violations of the Health and Safety Policy.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2015, 2014, 2013 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Nikolas Jorge Gelo 2012 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Marc Anthony Small 2012 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Howard N. Tench 1956 Delta Beta Xi Award
Garven W. Videen 1956 Delta Beta Xi Award