University of Connecticut


Hartford, CT

In 1881, the Connecticut General Assembly passed legislation to establish a land grant college that has become the University of Connecticut. In October of 1941, Phi Kappa Lambda was organized at the University of Connecticut. Two years later, the group became the fourth national fraternity at the University of Connecticut when Alpha Kappa Pi granted a charter to its Alpha Nu Chapter. Operations were suspended shortly thereafter due to World War II.

Six returning servicemen revived the Gamma Gamma Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi in September of 1946. On campus housing was obtained for 50 members. The Chapter won the 1957-58 Scholastic Improvement Award. In 1970, the University interpreted Title IX as prohibiting provision on university housing for gender selective groups. All fraternities and sororities were required to leave the on-campus housing and several closed. The Chapter closed in 1972 after initiating 549 members. The University reversed its position on providing housing for Greek letter organizations in 1976.

In 1999, a colony was established at the University of Connecticut through the efforts of Alpha Sigma Phi Director of Expansion Drew Thawley, Ohio Wesleyan ‘94. The group did not meet standards for chartering and disbanded. Another effort at reviving the Chapter was authorized in 2006 but did not occur.

In the fall of 2015, Coordinator of Expansion T.J. Brennan, Seton Hall ‘11 began expansion efforts at the University of Connecticut. The group initiated 79 men in their first semester, the initiation was assisted by undergraduate men from Gamma (Massachusetts). The Founding President was Ryan Cunniff, Connecticut ‘15.

On April 23, 2016, the Gamma Gamma Colony re-chartered and once again became an official chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. The Ceremony was held at the Deanston House in Storrs, Connecticut. T.J. Brennan, Seton Hall ‘11, represented Fraternity Staff. Grand Councilor Rodney Rusk, Central Michigan ‘93, was the Installing Officer and presented the charter. Ryan Cunniff, Connecticut ‘15, was the Founding President. 

Robert E. Miller, Connecticut ‘49, served on the Grand Council and as two term Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi. He also served as a Trustee of the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation in the 1980’s and 90’s, as Chairman of the Board of Trustees, and as Secretary of the Trust until December 31, 2004. Brother Miller received the Delta Beta Xi Award and won the Distinguished Service Award in 1988.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Grand Senior President's Cup 2021
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2022, 2020, 2019
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2017, 2016 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Anirudh Jayakumar Kurup 2018 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Adam Mazzone 2016 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Robert E. Miller 1949 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Citation - Grand Senior President
    Delta Beta Xi Award