Indiana University


Bloomington, IN

Indiana University was founded in 1820, and the first fraternity chapter chartered on the campus entered in 1845. Sigma Psi was organized on May 19, 1966 and Larry Fast was elected the group’s first President. Stan Miller, Purdue ‘64, was advisor to the Colony. Thirteen members of Sigma Psi returned to Bloomington in fall of 1966. In November 1966, four leaders of the group stole Sigma Psi’s treasury of several hundred dollars, and that left the group feeling that there was little prospect of success, and little support from either Indiana University or Alpha Sigma Phi for their efforts.

New officers were elected and Sigma Psi grew to 29 members. On February 18, 1967, Sigma Psi was recognized as a colony of Alpha Sigma Phi. Grand Senior President Ray Glos, Illinois ‘22, Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, and Ed Madison, Alabama ‘58, presented the colonization certificate. John Chaney, Indiana ‘67, John Carlson, Indiana ‘67, and Dan Egler, Indiana ‘67, were the only three originators who remained in the group throughout colony status to chartering of the chapter. Thirty-seven members of the Colony were initiated on September 9, 1967 by members of Alpha Pi (Purdue) and Alpha Alpha (Oklahoma) Chapters. Also assisting were brothers from the Alpha Iota (Alabama) and Epsilon (Ohio Wesleyan) Chapters. 

On February 17, 1968, Sigma Psi was chartered as the Gamma Chi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi in ceremonies at the Guest House Inn. Stan Miller, Purdue ‘64, was instrumental in leading the Colony to chartering. Robert Cockrum, Indiana ‘67, was the first Grand Chapter Advisor and first alumnus of the Chapter to receive the Delta Beta Xi Award. A tradition of the Colony and early chapter was to have a new chapter song for each major function.

During its first ten years, the local/colony rented quarters at 513 North Park Avenue. The Chapter suffered a house fire on November 5, 1972. In January 1973, Gamma Chi moved to 625 N. Jordan Avenue. In 1978, the Chapter was able to purchase a house at 1415 N. Jordan Avenue. In fall 1986, an open party was raided and several arrests were made. Six weeks later, two new members were hospitalized for acute alcohol poisoning and Gamma Chi was suspended. The Chapter rebounded from those problems and was named Indiana University’s Most Improved Fraternity in 1987. 

In 1973, Gamma Chi won the National Province Leadership Award and won the Grand Senior President’s Award the next year. The chapter newsletter is “The Eighth Point;” and it won the Chapter Newsletter Award for 1974-76. A few years later, Gamma Chi hosted the 1979 National Leadership Conference. In 1990, construction of a new chapter house at 1968 North Jordan Avenue began and the new house, accommodating 98 residents, was dedicated on February 22, 1992.

In 1998-99, the Chapter was having operational problems and a membership review resulted in reducing undergraduate membership to a core group, which had further problems in fall of 2000. As a result, the Chapter was entirely reorganized. However, Gamma Chi was unable to maintain debt service and cover overhead on its 98 man house. The Chapter was temporarily closed from 2000 to 2002.

Frank Wahman, Indiana ‘73, Chris Koch, Indiana ‘79 and Bob Woerner ‘92, served on the Fraternity Staff. John Gibson, Indiana ‘85, served on the Fraternity Staff, on the Grand Council, served two terms as Grand Senior President and received the Distinguished Service Award in 2006. John R. Chaney, Indiana ‘67, has served as Executive Vice President of Alpha Sigma Phi, Inc., and the Educational Foundation from 1990 to 1993. Thomas Hinkley, Indiana ‘84, served as Chief Executive Officer of Alpha Sigma Phi from 1998 to 2003 and as Interim President and CEO in 2009. From 2010-2014 he was on the Grand Councilor. Hinkley served as Chief Advancement Officer and Campaign Director for the Alpha Sigma Phi Foundation from 2016-17. He received the Distinguished Merit Award in 2004 and the Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award in 2017. Brian Jump, Indiana ‘77, headed the arrangements for the 1979 National Leadership Conference, served on the Fraternity Staff, and was a Director and Chairman of the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation. Ronald Fisher, Indiana ‘69, and Tom Brown, Indiana ‘75, served as Directors of the Alpha Sigma Phi Foundation. Mike Lawless, Indiana ‘72, and Ken Perkins, Indiana ‘69, served as Undergraduate Advisors to the Grand Council.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022, 2019
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2017 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1974
Most Improved Chapter Award 1990
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2010 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Luke Thomas Ardizone 2019 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Gordon L. Beeman 1968 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas L. Brown 1975 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
John Richard Chaney 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
Robert B. Cockrum 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mark L. English 1971 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ronald P. Fischer 1969 Delta Beta Xi Award
John B. Gibson, Jr. 1985 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
    Distinguished Merit Award
Thomas R. Hinkley 1984 Distinguished Merit Award
    Citation - Grand Senior President
    Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
David S. Hon, Jr. 1984 Delta Beta Xi Award
Brian W. Jump 1977 Delta Beta Xi Award
Christopher J. Koch 1979 Delta Beta Xi Award
Bryan David Macer 2002 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph Anthony Roytan 2021 Byron R Nugen Scholarship
Robert A. Woerner 1992 Delta Beta Xi Award