University of North Carolina


Chapel Hill, NC

In the spring of 2014, a sizable interest group at UNC-Chapel Hill approached Alpha Sigma Phi with intent to found a colony on their campus. Fraternity staff members Connor Gau, Chico State ’11 and Robbie Layman, Colorado State ’11 traveled to UNC-Chapel Hill, leading expansion efforts and recruiting a total of 67 men as founding fathers. The group was colonized in April of 2014 by Doug Jones, Cornell ’07. The colony found great success early on during its history and was soon approved to charter. 

The Eta Kappa Colony at the University of North Carolina chartered on April 25, 2015, becoming the Eta Kappa Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. The ceremony was held at Top of the Hill Restaurant. The keynote speaker was

Grand Councilor Jeff Hoffman, Member-at-Large ‘76. Staff member Connor Gau, Chico State ‘11, assisted with the ceremony. President and CEO Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96, and Grand Counilor Bernie Schulz, Radford ‘89, were in attendance. Alums from Western Carolina, East Carolina, Indiana and Colorado were also present.

Eta Kappa’s President at the time was Connor DeHaven, North Carolina ‘14.

The Chapter closed in fall 2021 due to University code of conduct violations.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2019, 2018, 2017, 2015