Morehead State University


Morehead, KY

Morehead State University began as a “normal school” (an institution created to train high school graduates to be teachers) in 1887 before transitioning to a public school in 1923. It became a general college in 1948 and a full university in 1966. It is the easternmost public university in Kentucky and serves one of the most disadvantaged regions in the United States.

Assistant Director of Expansion and Growth L.T. Piver, Chico State ‘11, led expansion efforts at Morehead State University during the 2015 spring semester. Twenty-nine men participated in a Pledge Ceremony in March of 2015 and the group was colonized in April of 2015. The Colony President was JD Cook, Morehead State ‘15.

On February 6, 2016, the Eta Chi Chapter held their chartering ceremony in the Carl D. Perkins Community Center. Undergraduate Grand Councilor Sam Harris, Wayne State ‘12 and Oakland ‘13, conducted the Ceremony with assistance from staff member L.T. Piver, Chico State ‘11. Eta Chi Grand Chapter Advisor Douglas Triplett, Marshall ‘96, and Faculty Advisor Paul Hicks, were also in attendance. 

Eta Chi had a number of satellite houses - “The Circle” at 209 McClure Circle; “The Pink House”, a long time Gamma Phi Beta house, at 306 N Wilson Drive; and “The Green House” at 1311 E Main Street - before settling on an official, CLVEN rented property at 1100 US 60 W, a former Pi Kappa Alpha house.

After rebounding from a post-charter lull in fraternity spirits with pushes for increased recruitment, GPA, and campus involvement, the chapter won the Fraternity & Sorority Life Most Improved Chapter award in 2018. The chapter’s newsletter is “The Eta Chi Eagle.”

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022, 2019, 2018

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Mason Lewis Dalton 2018 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Daniel Keith Mink 2017 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
    Undergraduate Hall of Fame
    Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year