University of Illinois


Urbana, IL

The University of Illinois was established as the land grant university for Illinois in 1867; its undergraduate enrollment exceeds 30,000 in 17 colleges and 150 programs. Its fraternity community is the largest in the United States. 68 fraternities and 36 sororities have a combined undergraduate membership of about 6,700 students. The Eos Club was organized in 1907. It members petitioned Alpha Sigma Phi for a charter, and the petition was approved in May 1908, and the chapter was installed as Eta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. The early chapter had houses on Green Street, 410 Daniel Street, and 404 E. Daniel Street. In 1927 the chapter completed a house on its lot at 211 Armory, and it has occupied the house since, except for one year in the early 1980’s and during a period when the house was rebuilt in 2010-2011. Eta Chapter’s newsletter is the “Etagram,” formerly known as the “Illini Etagram.”

In 1935-36, Eta Chapter initiated several members of the Illinois chapter of a National Fraternity which had disintegrated during the depression. As the central office of this defunct organization had ceased to function, the members had not secured a release from the prior organization. The incident led to suspension of Alpha Sigma Phi by the NIC for one year. After investigation of the chapter’s conduct and the state of the prior organization at the time, no fault was found nor discipline imposed on Eta Chapter or the members initiated.

Delta of Phi Pi Phi: In 1923 Iota Phi Theta was chartered as Delta of Phi Pi Phi. It had houses in 1923-24 at 104 E. Green Street and 1925-31 at 305 E. Green Street. In 1933 the chapter moved to 806 W. Green Street, Urbana. It became inactive in about 1936.

Sigma of Alpha Kappa Pi: Kappa Zeta Rho was formed as the Pyramid Club by Marion Lindee and R. R. Goff in May 1926. In the Fall the fraternity rented a house at 906 S. Sixth Street, which accommodated the membership of seventeen. In 1929, the fraternity moved to 309 E. John Street. Lambda Alpha Lambda was formed in November 1926, under the leadership of A. S. Stewart. In February 1927, the group rented a house at 406 Green Street, which accommodated sixteen of the seventeen members, and later acquired a house at 509 E. Chalmers Street, and finally moved to 401 Green Street. Both local fraternities (Kappa Zeta Rho and Lambda Alpha Lambda) petitioned Alpha Kappa Pi, and their combined petitions were accepted.The local fraternities were installed on May 29-30, 1931. In May 1934 the Alpha Kappa Pi chapter moved to 1109 S. Fourth Street. The Depression took its toll on student memberships, and only five members of the Alpha Kappa Pi chapter returned to school in Fall 1934.

Following the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi in 1946, members returned from wartime service to the 211 Armory house. Calvin Sifford, first initiated at the Carthage College chapter of Alpha Kappa Pi led in the post war restoration of Eta Chapter. After a brief period of inactivity, the chapter was re-chartered in 1982. Jim McMahan, IIT ‘78, and Chuck McCaffrey, Illinois ‘82, have provided alumni guidance to the chapter for many years.

The Chapter hosted the 1909, 1937, and 1984 Conventions of Alpha Sigma Phi. It won the Grand Senior President’s Award in 1996, 1990, and 1988, the Gary Anderson Membership Education Award in 1988, the Scholarship award in 1966.

Nathan Hood, Illinois ‘92 and Steve Zizzo, Illinois ‘84, received the Frank F. Hargear Awards in 1995 and 1987. Steve Zizzo, Illinois ‘84 served in several capacities on the Fraternity staff, including as Executive Vice-President, 1994-97.  David K. Leedy, Illinois ‘85 and James A. Niewara, Illinois ‘87, were Alpha Sigma Phi Scholars of the Year in 1987 and 1989.  Chuck McCaffrey, Illinois ‘82, Daniel P. Kramer, Illinois ‘00, received Kleinoeder Graduate Scholarship Awards in 2005 and 2004.  John Kim, Illinois ‘86, Illinois State ‘87, received the Friends of Rho Scholarship Award in 1987.

Twelve alumni of Eta have served on the Grand Council or Grand Prudential Committee of Alpha Sigma Phi.  Dallas Donnan, Illinois ‘21, and Raymond E. Glos, Illinois ‘22, served as Grand Senior Presidents of Alpha Sigma Phi from 1964 to 1966 and 1966 to 1968, respectively, and both have been awarded the Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award of Alpha Sigma Phi. Joseph P. Lanterman, Illinois ‘34, and John T. Trutter, Illinois ‘39, have received the Distinguished Merit Award.  Charles Bennis, Illinois ‘33, was named to the University of Illinois All Century football team.  Ray Elliot, Illinois ‘38, was head coach of the Fighting Illini from 1942 to 1959, compiling an overall 83-73-4 record, winning three Big Ten titles, and two Rose Bowls. The Chapter currently holds the record for the most men initiated since 1907, having initiated over 2,125 men through the Spring of 2008. 27 alumni of the chapter have been awarded the Delta Beta Xi key.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2019, 2013, 2012 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1996, 1990, 1988
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2017, 2016, 2014

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Edward C. Baldwin 1909 Delta Beta Xi Award
Dan W. Baltes 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award
William T. Brydges 1926 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mark S. Bundy 1977 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
C. William Cleworth 1914 Delta Beta Xi Award
Dallas L. Donnan 1921 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Evan R. Geiselhart 1982 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles M. Given 1963 Delta Beta Xi Award
Raymond E. Glos 1922 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Gordon D. Goranson 1966 Delta Beta Xi Award
Henry M. Hilton 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
Nathan Hood 1992 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Ralph W. Ibenfeldt 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Daniel Patrick Kramer 2000 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Gregory M. Kroencke 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph B. Lanterman 1934 Distinguished Merit Award
Charles A. McCaffrey, Ph.D. 1982 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Rexford Newcomb 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
James H. Nogle 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jeffery S. Owens 1987 Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph L. Picard 1926 Delta Beta Xi Award
M J. Pierce 1916 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard E. Porter 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
Walter K. Porter 1937 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert J. Quinn 1912 Delta Beta Xi Award
Patrick J. Roxworthy 1973 Delta Beta Xi Award
Erik C. Sachs 1994 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert L. Shoecraft 1924 Delta Beta Xi Award
Calvin S. Sifferd 1946 Delta Beta Xi Award
John P.A. Stephens 2016 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Frederic B. Stiven 1921 Delta Beta Xi Award
Walter A. Stohrer 1918 Delta Beta Xi Award
John T. Trutter 1939 Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Arnold C. Vanzandt 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
Steven V. Zizzo 1984 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Citation - Grand Senior President
    Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award