Missouri Western State University


St. Joseph, MO

Missouri Western State College was established in 1915 and became a four-year college in 1969. Phi Sigma Kappa and Tau Kappa Epsilon entered the campus in 1971. 

Fifteen men organized an interest group in the spring of 2003. After an additional nine men became new members, the group obtained colony status in June of 2003. A petition for charter was submitted by 29 members and seven new members in January of 2004. Michael Perry, Tarkio ‘70, was the Grand Chapter Advisor. Elijah Haahr, Missouri Western ‘04, was the President at the time of colonization.

On April 17, 2004, Epsilon Omicron officially chartered in ceremonies on the MWSC Campus. In the fall of 2005, Epsilon Omicron’s grade point average was 3.21, while the All-Fraternity GPA was 2.78. 

Epsilon Omicron voted to surrender its charter on December 13, 2007, with 50 members on its chapter roll.

An expansion effort to revitalize Epsilon Omicron at Missouri Western began in the spring of 2016 by Matt Weido, San Jose State ‘13. Thirty-nine men were initiated into Alpha Sigma Phi in 2016. 


Epsilon Omicron re-chartered on September 9, 2017. The Ceremony was held at the Fulkerson Center on Missouri Western’s campus. Rodney Rusk, Central Michigan ‘93, gave the Keynote Address. Fraternity Staff in attendance included Max Nelson, Iowa State ‘12, Scott Rarick, Capital ‘10, and Past Staff Member Matt Weido, San Jose State ‘13. Josh McNeece, Missouri Valley ‘14, and Robert Holem, Missouri Valley ‘13, were also in attendance. Kelsey Cartledge, Missouri Western ‘16, was the Re-Founding Chapter President.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Elijah Jacob Lancaster Haahr 2004 Frank F. Hargear Recipient