Albright College


Reading, PA

Albright College traces its origin to the Albright Collegiate Institute of Myerstown, Pennsylvania, organized in 1856. It merged with the Union Seminary of New Berlin, Pennsylvania and in 1929 with Schuylkill College of Reading. The impetus for an Alpha Sigma Phi chapter grew out of dissatisfaction of thirteen students with the existing fraternities at Albright after the 1999-2000 fraternity rush. Contact was made with Drew Thawley, Ohio Wesleyan ‘94, and an interest group of 31 formed on the campus. The group colonized on March 10, 2000, with a membership of twenty-five. Drew Thawley, Ohio Wesleyan ‘94, Nick Swogger, Ohio Wesleyan ‘96, and Joshua Orendi, Bethany ‘96, provided staff direction. The colony received full recognition of the campus IFC on December 5, 2000. Nicholas Pomo was colony president, and Matthew Eisen alumni president.

On April 4, 2001, the Colony submitted its petition for chartering. It had 25 undergraduate and six alumni members. The chapter won the Albright Award for Academic Excellence in 2003-04. In Fall 2005, the chapter grade point average was 3.37, first among campus fraternities and over .5 higher than the all men’s average.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2020, 2017, 2012, 2011, 2010 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2016, 2014 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2019, 2018, 2015, 2013 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Sean Kevin Crossley 2008 Delta Beta Xi Award
Bryan Richard Wilson 2009 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year