Bloomsburg University


Bloomsburg, PA

Bloomsburg University grew out of Bloomsburg Academy, founded in 1839. It had become Bloomsburg Literary Institute and State Normal School in 1869. The name was changed to Bloomsburg State Teachers College in 1927, and Bloomsburg University in 1983. In 1999 enrollment was 6812 undergraduate and 626 graduate students. There were five NIC member fraternities and ten other fraternities on the campus when Alpha Sigma Phi colonized in 1999.

In March 1997, the Fraternity sought University approval to establish a provisional chapter at Bloomsburg. Approval was obtained, and a group of 18 men led by Kevin Fichter was formed. Ted Kocher, Findlay ‘92, was named advisor to the group. By the end of the school year, the group had grown to 28 undergraduate and 2 alumni members. By December 1998, the group had 36 members and had improved its grade average by over .5 to 2.84.  A petition for charter was submitted by 30 men, but approval was delayed because only 18 of the petitioners had submitted bio forms and 15 had fees outstanding. Todd Smith and Michael Luna, Jr. were presidents of the provisional chapter.  In April 1998, the provisional chapter won the President’s Cup as the best fraternity on the campus. 35 men submitted a petition for charter in January 1999; the group was said to be leading Bloomsburg fraternities to clean up their act. The chapter was chartered on April 10, 1999. Mike Luna served as an Undergraduate Grand Councilor.

In February 2000, the chapter was suspended for non-payment of liability insurance fees. The suspension was lifted on April 25, 2000. The chapter finished the year with 49 members, but $6,970 in delinquent accounts payable to Alpha Sigma Phi. October, 2000 31 members were reported. In February 2001, the chapter again defaulted on payment of its liability insurance premiums and in April 2001, membership had declined to 17 men. On March 5, 2001, Joel Hocking, was appointed Grand Chapter Advisor. On May 10, 2001, the chapter was found to have violated Bloomsburg University’s ban on kegs, and all university recognition was withdrawn. Following suspension on October 2, 2001, and investigation by the Fraternity, the chapter’s charter was revoked in 2002; the roster at that time contained the names of 46 initiates.

In August 2004, a group of students at Bloomsburg contacted Drew Thawley requesting authorization to form an interest group. After discussions in Fall 2004 an interest group was formed led by Martin Forsberg to revive the chapter. In January 2005, the group had obtained University recognition, and Mike Post outlined the requirements for colonization. Re-colonization occurred in Fall 2005. By March 2006, the group had grown to 19 men. In June 2008 the Bloomsburg Provisional Chapter presented a petition for chartering, but was in default on its October 2007 liability insurance premiums, and no action was taken on the petition. On July 7, 2008, after failing to register a delegate to Grand Chapter, failing to communicate with staff or meet its financial obligations, the Fraternity ceased recognition of the provisional chapter.

Alpha Sigma Phi will returned to campus during the spring 2017 semester. Steve McGunagle, Chico State ‘12, led the expansion efforts at Bloomsburg. On April 1, 2017, 45 men were initiated into the Epsilon Epsilon Provisional Chapter. The initiation ceremony was led by Logan Dunnigan, Salem State ‘13, and Grand Chapter Advisor, Kyle Coleman, Lock Haven ‘12. The following members from the Delta Nu Chapter (Lock Haven) assisted in the ceremony: Jacob Padelski, Lock Haven ‘14, Robby Heck, Lock Haven ‘16, Zared Rechart, Lock Haven ‘17, Ryan Plant, Lock Haven ‘16, and John Florill, Lock Haven ‘15. In addition, on April 1, 2017, Bloomsburg became an official Provisional Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi with Gabriel Velazquez, Bloomsburg ‘17, as the Provisional Chapter President at the time of the ceremony. The Epsilon Epsilon Provisional Chapter re-chartered on February 3, 2018.