Capital University


Bexley, OH

Alpha Sigma Phi expansion efforts at Capital University first began when an interest group was formed on April 27, 2009. The men of the interest group desired a new fraternity at Capital that better met their values and sought national affiliation at the urging of their Fraternity and Sorority Advisor Ryan Hilperts. The men narrowed their search down to 3 national organizations, ultimately selecting Alpha Sigma Phi. Initial expansion efforts were coordinated by Josh Franke, Otterbein ’06 and Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ’03 . On Thursday, October 22, 2009, a new colony was established at Capital University in Bexley, Ohio, a suburb of Columbus. The Pledge and Colonization Ceremony took place on the Capital campus. More than twenty men participated in the ceremony in Battelle Hall. The event was attended by undergraduate men from the Epsilon Theta Chapter at Otterbein College and several alumni who live in the Columbus area. 

The Epsilon Chi Chapter was chartered on September 11, 2010 in ceremonies held in the Harry C. Moores Campus Center. 16 men were on the chartering roster and special guests at the ceremony included Gordy Heminger, President and CEO, Grand Chapter Advisor Aaron Duncan, Ohio State ’05, Fran Lapham, Fraternity and Sorority Advisor, and Dr. Denvy A. Bowman, President of Capital University. Their first initiation took place on the same date in the Kerns Chapel basement.

Brent Bowers, Capital ‘10 and Scott Rarick, Capital ‘10 were elected Student Government President and Vice President thanks to their connections on campus and their use of social media during the 2011-12 academic year. According to Bowers, this was the closest election in recent history at Capital University mainly due to the use of social media to drive students to the ballot box. During that academic year the chapter reached 49 members, their largest membership total to that point.

The chapter alumni formed their Alumni Association at a meeting held on April 27th, 2013 and elected Kyle Fowler, Capital ‘10 as their first President. Other founding Board members were: Vice President Brent Bowers, Capital ‘10, Secretary Jake Lamoreaux, Capital ‘10, Treasurer Richie Meyers, Capital ’10, Communications Director Evan Walker, Capital ‘13, and Development Director Justin Damron, Capital ‘11.

Beginning in 2015, the Epsilon Chi Chapter awarded one outstanding alumnus the honor of “Alumni of the Year” for their service and support of the Chapter at Capital. The award has been given annually since to one outstanding alumnus selected by the Chapter. Martin Nyenty-Arrey, Capital ’11 originally coordinated this award, in his role as Alumni Association Development Director, with the undergraduate leadership. Typically the honoree has served on the chapter advisory team, the Alumni Association, or has made a special contribution of their time and talent to the Chapter during that year.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2011 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2022, 2017, 2012 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2019, 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Brent Allen Bowers 2010 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Scott Millard Rarick 2010 Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
    Undergraduate Hall of Fame
    Delta Beta Xi Award