Lindenwood University


Saint Charles, MO

Lindenwood College was chartered in 1853 from a school started by Mary Sibley in St. Charles, Missouri in 1827. Lindenwood Hall was erected in 1857. Jubilee Hall was the next building added in 1907. In 1940, the College was accredited to grant four year degrees. Men were first admitted to the College in 1968. The College enrolls 3,000 students in 40 majors. Dennis C. Spellman, Missouri Valley ‘55, Omega 2006, was President of the College during the period of development of the Epsilon Beta Chapter.

On May 8, 1993, a petition for colonization was submitted by 38 undergraduates led by President Shawn Worman. Half the petitioners did not meet Alpha Sigma Phi academic performance requirements for initiation. The group initially met in an auditorium, but was provided a house on Watson Street by the College. Jim Reid, Tulane ‘68, was the Colony’s advisor and first Grand Chapter Advisor.

A petition for chartering was submitted by 27 undergraduates. On April 5, 1997, the Epsilon Beta Chapter was installed at Lindenwood College. Chad Matlick, Lindenwood ‘97, was the first Chapter President and received the charter from Ed Leedom, Bowling Green ‘86. Dennis Spellman, Missouri Valley ‘55, and Jim Reed, Jr., Tulane ‘68, spoke for the alumni.

The University closed the Epsilon Beta Chapter in the fall of 2013.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2010 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Christopher Thomas Kyle 1997 Delta Beta Xi Award