Ohio Wesleyan University


Delaware, OH

The Epsilon Charter was granted on June 6, 1863, to Lyman Strong, Marietta 1860, and friends at Delaware College, now Ohio Wesleyan University. Sixteen members were initiated by the old chapter. The stresses and uncertainty of the Civil War led the members to seek security by combining with the members of Sigma Chi in the latter organization. Old Epsilon became inactive in 1864.

In 1913, the petition of twelve members of the Ohio Wesleyan Union was approved and Epsilon was re-chartered on May 24, 1913. The chapter’s first house was located at 110 Franklin Street, Delaware. In 1918, the chapter moved to temporary quarters at 123 Oak Street, and work undertaken to form a house corporation. In 1920, the chapter purchased the “Old Manse” at 121 Washington Street. The Old Manse was Epsilon’s home until 1966.

In 1967, the chapter moved into a new house on campus on Williams Drive. The chapter became inactive in 1971, and low enrollment at the University hindered attempts to revive it. The chapter newsletter was “Epsilon Quill”.

An interest group known as B.O.S.S. formed on the campus in the April 1991. In May 1991, three members of the original group graduated. In fall 1991, five freshmen were recruited and Rich Ritter, a transfer student from University of Toledo, and an initiate of Beta Rho Chapter joined the group. The group grew to thirty-seven members in the Fall of 1992, and submitted a petition for re-chartering in January 1993. The group met conditions set down by the University’s Greek affairs office, but a change of personnel in that office led the University to withhold approval for chartering the group. Given the quality and record of the petitioners and group, an exception was authorized by the Grand Council and the petition for charter approved.

The installation and re-chartering of Epsilon Chapter took place on April 24, 1993. Past Grand Senior President George Lord, Ohio Wesleyan ‘61, was keynote speaker; Executive Secretary Emeritus Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, spoke, and Grand Secretary Larry Spees, Ohio Wesleyan ‘57, was master of ceremonies. Richard Jackson, Ohio Wesleyan ‘50, was elected chapter alumni association president. In 1996, the chapter rented part of a duplex behind the Beeghley Library. In 1998, Richard Jackson, Ohio Wesleyan ‘50, purchased, furnished, and from 1998 to 2001, leased to the chapter a house accommodating five men across from the Hamilton Williams Campus Center. In 2001, the chapter moved to its current on-campus chapter house at 9 Williams Drive, Delaware, Ohio.

Epsilon Chapter has won the Grand Senior President’s ward in 2006 and 2004, the Alpha Gamma Upsilon and Service Awards in 2000, an Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup in 2010, and Gary Anderson Membership Education Awards in 2003, 1997, and 1995. Epsilon Chapter won Alpha Sigma Phi Scholarship Awards in 2006, 2004, 2002, 2000, 1996, and 1994. Epsilon Chapter also received the NIC Award of Distinction in 2006.

W. Jamie O’Brien, Ohio Wesleyan ‘99, Jeffrey Sindelar, Jr., Ohio Wesleyan ‘01, and Chris Musbach, Ohio Wesleyan ‘02, won the 2002, 2003, and 2005 Frank F. Hargear Awards. Robert P. Fryer, Ohio Wesleyan ‘93, and Adam Yeates, Ohio Wesleyan ‘95, were Alpha Sigma Phi Scholars of the Year in 1993 and 1997, respectively. Benjamin W. Hill, Ohio Wesleyan ‘00, and Stephen Baker, Ohio Wesleyan ‘95 won Kleinoeder Graduate Scholarship in 2004 and 1999.

In terms of contributions to Alpha Sigma Phi and distinction in life following graduation, the alumni of Epsilon Chapter are second to none:

Epsilon alumnus “Mister Alpha Sig”, Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, is known by more “Alpha Sigs” than any other alumnus, having served the Fraternity as Executive Secretary of the Fraternity for forty years (1936-1976) and as Secretary of the Educational Foundation Trustees for over twelve more years. Ralph Burns took over the executive secretary position after Allen B. Kime, Penn State ‘21. There was a two-year gap in between the two secretaries due to the effects of the Great Depression. 

Additionally, seven initiates of Epsilon have served on the Grand Council, and three have served as editors of the Tomahawk. Among the seven were Donald J. Hornberger, Ohio Wesleyan ‘25, who served as Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi from 1960 to 1962, George Lord, Ohio Wesleyan ‘61, who served as Grand Senior President from 1976 to 1978 and Richard Ritter, Ohio Wesleyan ‘93 who served as Grand Senior President from 2008-2012.  Dr. Larry Spees, Ohio Wesleyan ‘57, served two terms on the Grand Council, served as a Trustee of the Foundation, and also served for 25 years as Grand Chapter Advisor to Delta Epsilon Chapter at University of Rio Grande. Brothers Richard L. Jackson, Ohio Wesleyan ‘50, Larry Spees, Ohio Wesleyan ‘57, Donald Hornberger, Ohio Wesleyan ‘25, and Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, have received the Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award of Alpha Sigma Phi. Arthur S. Flemming, Ohio Wesleyan ‘27; Charles M. Beeghly, Ohio Wesleyan ‘27; Ralph F. Burns, Ohio Wesleyan ‘32, and Dr. Robert D. Wells, Ohio Wesleyan ‘57, have received the Distinguished Merit Award.

Drew Thawley, Ohio Wesleyan ‘94, served as President and CEO of the Fraternity for 3 1/2 years and also served as the President and CEO of the Foundation. Ralph F. Burns’ service has been noted above and the International Headquarters building is named in his honor. Denis Beaudoin, Ohio Wesleyan ‘01, Jeremy Horne, Ohio Wesleyan ‘08, Adam Koorn, Ohio Wesleyan 08, Nick Hudson-Swogger, Ohio Wesleyan ‘96 , and C. E. Dusty Dilley, Ohio Wesleyan ‘2, have also served on the Fraternity Staff. Sixteen alumni of the chapter have received the Delta Beta Xi Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2010 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 
Grand Senior President's Cup 2014, 2013, 2006, 2004
Most Improved Chapter Award 2000
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2012 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Stephen D. Baker 1995 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Denis James Beaudoin 2001 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles M. Beeghly 1927 Distinguished Merit Award
Jonathan K. Burns 1984 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
Ralph Frank Burns 1932 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Fredrick A. Coope 1934 Delta Beta Xi Award
Arthur S. Flemming 1924 Distinguished Merit Award
Jay C. Forse 1915 Delta Beta Xi Award
Scott F. Gallagher, M.D. 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert W. Gillespie 1963 Delta Beta Xi Award
William C. Haffner 1995 Delta Beta Xi Award
Daniel B. Heffelfinger 1917 Delta Beta Xi Award
Benjamin Whitefield Hill 2000 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Thomas G. Hoffman 1915 Delta Beta Xi Award
Donald J. Hornberger 1925 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Jeremy David Horne 2008 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Richard L. Jackson 1950 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Matthew F. Kear 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
George E. Lord 1961 Delta Beta Xi Award
Christopher John Musbach 2002 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Frank F. Hargear Recipient
William James O'Brien 1999 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
H. Robert Olds 1935 Delta Beta Xi Award
Anthony Craig Ott 1997 Delta Beta Xi Award
Brock Joseph Schludecker 2009 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Jeffrey Charles Sindelar, Jr. 2001 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Larry G. Spees 1957 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
    Stan Thurston Lifetime Achievement Award
Drew Michael Thawley 1994 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert D. Wells, Ph.D. 1957 Distinguished Merit Award
Harry H. Yoder 1913 Delta Beta Xi Award
Benjamin F. Young 1913 Delta Beta Xi Award