University of North Carolina at Charlotte


Charlotte, NC

The Charlotte Campus of the University of North Carolina opened in 1965. The colony group, known as Delta Kappa, was formed in January 1975. Gamma Lambda Chapter alumni Bill Caldwell and Joe Harwood were advisors to the interest group. On March 2, 1979, the colony was installed as Delta Zeta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. Alpha Sigma Phi was the seventh NIC Fraternity to charter a chapter at UNC - Charlotte. Grand Senior President Richard Dexter, Oregon State ‘60, presented the Charter to David Elliott, UNC - Charlotte ‘79, the first president of the chapter. Evin Varner, Presbyterian ‘58 spoke at the ceremony, and Executive Director Kevin Garvey, Westminster ‘75, represented the Fraternity staff. The chapter announced creation of the Fomberg-Goforth-Washburn Award named after the three key founders of the colony. Past colony president Edwin B. Simpson was the first recipient of the Award. The “Crypt”, a nine by nine foot room, was the chapter’s first “home”.

The chapter leased an off campus house in the late 1980’s but gave it up as crime in the area increased. The chapter hosted the 1992 National Leadership Conference and Convention and the 2006 Grand Chapter. The chapter won the UNCC Most Improved Chapter and Scholastic Excellence Awards in 2004. The chapter newsletters have been “The Phoenix Chronicle” and the “Delta Zeta Discourse”. John Snelshire, UNC - Charlotte ‘85, Richard Buss, UNC - Charlotte ‘90, and Donald Green, UNC - Charlotte ‘91, have received the Delta Beta Xi Award. Matthew Rogers, UNCC ‘01, received the 2006 Frank F. Hargear Award.

In 2006, the chapter built a new 28 room chapter house. A dedication ceremony scheduled for the 2006 Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity Grand Chapter had to be postponed due to construction delays. The house was dedicated on September 28-29, 2007. Jeff Hoffman, Rick Buss and Justin LaRoche, UNC - Charlotte ‘06, represented the Fraternity at the dedication.

In the fall 2011, the chapter had a social event in which risk management policies were violated. University staff wanted to close the chapter. Fraternity staff were able to negotiate for the chapter to stay open and a series of sanctions were imposed, including a membership review.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018, 2016, 2010 
Most Improved Chapter Award 2006
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2019, 2017 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

David (B) M. Bernheim 1980 Delta Beta Xi Award
Rick G. Buss 1990 Delta Beta Xi Award
Andrew Christopher Davis 2004 Delta Beta Xi Award
Donald E. Goforth 1978 Delta Beta Xi Award
Donald K. Green 1991 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Andrew Reese Hill 2014 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Justin Corey LaRoche 2006 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
David Manton Lorenzen 2012 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Mathew Evan Rogers 2001 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
John M. Snelsire 1985 Delta Beta Xi Award
Brian Thomas Todd 2011 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Josh Connor Vaughn 2017 Undergraduate Hall of Fame