State University of New York at Plattsburgh


Plattsburgh, NY

Eric Kirleis, a former new member at Beta Epsilon Chapter, Lehigh University, transferred to Plattsburgh and organized an interest group in Fall 1985. The group was formally recognized as a colony of Alpha Sigma Phi in ceremonies on April 26, 1986. Grand Senior President Donald R. Morgan, Purdue ‘57 presented the colonization certificate. The Kahunta Kronicle was the colony’s newsletter.

The Petition for Chartering contained the names of 38 undergraduates, two alumni, and two faculty members, and was approved early in 1988. The chapter was installed by Grand Treasurer Charles Vohs, Penn State ‘75, and Randy Lewis, Oregon State ‘81, Director of Chapter Services, at the Elks Club on March 26, 1988. Members of Beta Xi, Delta Nu and Delta Mu Chapters assisted with the initiation of charter members. Adam Campbell was the first chapter president. Ed Lenane, SUNY Platsburgh ‘88, was an early president of the chapter, won the Frank Hargear Award in 1991, served on the Fraternity Staff as Chapter Consultant, and Director of Programming, and served on the Grand Council. The chapter initiated 201 members through 2002 when the chapter closed.

Reactivation efforts began in September 2008, when an Interest Group was formed under the guidance of Dallas Montgomery, Purdue ‘04. The interest group grew to nine members, but was restricted from meeting on campus or identifying themselves as an interest group of Alpha Sigma Phi. Leaders of the Interest Group participated in retreats at Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters in November 2008 and February 2009. Those sessions helped the group establish an action plan to take them back to fraternity status on the campus. The group attained colony status on March 6, 2009. The colonization was attended by nine alumni from the initial Delta Xi Chapter including Stewart Dawes, Plattsburgh ‘88 and the Colony Advisor Philip Sorette, Plattsburgh ‘88.

The chapter was re-chartered on December 5, 2009. Initiation took place in the Valcour Conference Center. At the installation banquet, Grand Councilor Ed Lenane, Plattsburgh ‘88, represented the Grand Council and presented the Charter. Steve Latour, Central Michigan ‘04, and Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ‘03, represented the Fraternity staff.  GCA Philip Sorette, Plattsburgh ‘88, and Faculty Advisor Becky Kaspar attended. Griffin Burnett, Plattsburgh ‘09 was the first chapter president. The Delta Xi Colony was the fastest fraternity to ever go from Colony to Chapter at SUNY Plattsburgh.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2016, 2013, 2012, 2010
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2011 
Most Improved Chapter Award 2016
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2019, 2018, 2017 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Edward W. Lenane 1988 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Philip J. Sorette 1988 Delta Beta Xi Award
Michael S. Sussman 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award