Coastal Carolina University


Conway, SC

Coastal Carolina Junior College opened in September of 1954 with 53 students. From 1954 through 1958, the college operated as a branch of the College of Charleston. In August of 1959, the college became part of the University of South Carolina. In 1961, a 185 acre tract was secured as a campus site. Ground breaking was in 1962 and the campus opened in 1963 with 100 students in one building. Authority to grant four year degrees was conferred in 1974. The first on campus housing opened in 1987. Pi Kappa Phi and Sigma Phi Epsilon preceded Alpha Sigma Phi, while Sigma Nu developed concurrently.

The colony’s petition for chartering had 25 signatories. Installation and initiation with 42 charter names took place on October 30, 1993.

In the fall of 1996, the Chapter recruited a new member class of 17. Due to ongoing health and safety violations, the Chapter was closed in the fall of 1999. The chapter initiated 93 members. Ryan Brown, Coastal Carolina ‘94, served on the Fraternity staff.

In the fall of 2018, Coordinator of Expansion Danny Thiakos, Arizona ‘15, began expansion efforts at Coastal Carolina. By the end of the semester, 46 men were initiated into Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity. 

On February 20, 2019, the Interest Group was installed as an official Provisional Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. Coordinator of Undergraduate Engagement Nick Miller, Illinois State ‘15, represented Fraternity Staff. Corey Bergeron, Coastal Carolina ‘18, was the Provisional Chapter President at the time of installation.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022