Central Michigan University


Mt. Pleasant, MI

Central Michigan Normal and Business Institute opened in 1892. It came under state control and was renamed Central Michigan Normal School in 1895. By 1918, enrollment had grown to 450 on a 25 acre campus. On June 1, 1959, the school became Central Michigan University, with 4,500 students and 40 buildings on a 235 acre campus. In 1993, the campus enrollment was 17,000 on site and 9,600 off-site students studying for 22 degrees in 120 majors.

Delta Phi Rho Fraternity (letters standing for Diversity, Friendship and Respect) was organized by Mark Jewell and six friends in 1989. The objective of Delta Phi Rho was to have unity through diversity. After a year of local operation, in early 1990, Robert Cabello, Eastern Michigan ‘70, convinced Delta Phi Rho to seek affiliation with Alpha Sigma Phi. Delta Phi Rho became an interest group of Alpha Sigma Phi on October 5, 1990. Recognition of Delta Phi Rho as an interest group of Alpha Sigma Phi was granted by the Central Michigan University IFC on November 17, 1990. In 1991, the Colony obtained housing on Central Michigan University’s Greek Row.

Membership grew to 31 and the group was recognized as the Phi Kappa Colony of Alpha Sigma Phi in ceremonies at Cascarelli’s West on October 12, 1991. Director of Undergraduate Operations Jeff Owens, Illinois ‘87, represented Fraternity Staff. Grand Senior President Charles Vohs, Penn State ‘75, Grand Secretary and Grand Chapter Advisor, Robert Cabello, Eastern Michigan ‘70, spoke for the Fraternity. On February 22, 1992, the Colony was granted full membership in the IFC. In 1992-93, the Colony faced limited recruitment resources and struggled, opening the fall term with 17 men. Fall recruitment produced the third largest new member class of any fraternity on the campus, doubling the size of the Colony. The Colony leased housing at 510 Main Street, Mount Pleasant, Michigan. In the spring of 1993, the Colony won the Provosts Cup for highest fraternity grade point average.

On April 30, 1993, the group was chartered and officially became the Delta Rho Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. Grand Senior President Charles Vohs, Penn State ‘75, Grand Secretary Robert Cabello, Eastern Michigan ‘70, and Director of Chapter Services Jeff Owens, Illinois ‘87, conducted the Chartering Ceremony.  Marty Barker, Central Michigan ‘93, was elected the Chapter’s first President and Robert C. Look, Lawrence Tech ‘74, was the Chapter’s first Grand Chapter Advisor. 

Delta Rho bought the 510 Main Street facility and operated from it until 1999. Business majors dominated undergraduate membership and intramural sports became a focus for activity and interest. The Chapter frequently teamed with Alpha Chi Omega in campus activities. Beginning in 2000, membership declined. In the fall of 2002, only four undergraduate members returned to campus and recruitment was unsuccessful. The 2002-2003 undergraduates were granted alumni status and chapter operations were suspended for the year.

In fall 2003, Jim Vanek, Michigan ‘98, and the Delta Rho Alumni Association organized an interest group of four men: Steve Latour, Marc LaNore, Marc Schreiber, and Joe Walczak to re-build the chapter. By August 21, 2004, the group had grown to a membership of 25 men. They were initiated and the charter was restored. In January 2005, Delta Rho obtained a house at 1507 East Broadway. The Chapter initiated its Psi pledge class of 17 men on September 26, 2005. On December 8, 2005, the Chapter held its first formal dance since its re-organization. From 2005 through 2008, the Chapter, with assistance from the Alumni Association and Chapter Council, renewed focus on core chapter operations: Brotherhood and Recruitment for the building of a sustained Fraternity. This effort resulted in a pledge class of 14 for the 2008 fall term and a pledge class of six for the 2009 winter term.

Rodney Rusk, Central Michigan ‘93, has served as a Grand Councilor since 2012 and was the Grand Secretary from 2014-16. Steve Latour, Central Michigan ‘04, served on the Fraternity staff from 2005-2014 and served as CEO of Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity starting January 1, 2015. In 2018, Steve returned to Alpha Sigma Phi Staff serving as the Chief Housing Officer in fall of 2018.

Alex Wright, Central Michigan ‘08, joined staff in the spring of 2015 as the Assistant Director of Business Operations and transitioned to Advancement Officer in 2017. 

Nick Stepaniak, Central Michigan ‘09, joined staff in the spring of 2018 as an Assistant Director of Alumni Engagement.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2020 ,2019, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2011 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2018, 2017, 2015, 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Martin G. Barker, II 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award
Connor Flynn Davis 2012 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Brock Douglas Hillman 1997 Delta Beta Xi Award
Steven John Latour 2004 Delta Beta Xi Award
Rodney Michael Rusk 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award
Marcus Lee Schreiber 2004 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
Tracee S. Senter 1993 Delta Beta Xi Award