Middle Tennessee State University


Murfressboro, TN

Middle Tennessee State University was founded in 1911. Development of an Alpha Sigma Phi interest group began in the fall of 1994. In November 1994, Robert Payne, was interest group president and by August 1995 Keith Charlton had become President. The interest group became a provisional chapter on October 1, 1995, when 25 men were pledged by Grand Marshal Bob Cabello, Eastern Michigan ’70, and Chapter Leadership Consultant Glen Olson, Bowling Green ‘92. A petition to charter was approved in March 1996, but internal dissension arose, and the Provisional Chapter fell apart. The remaining members rebuilt the Provisional Chapter and a new petition for charter was submitted and approved on January 18, 1997. Philip Crabtree, Middle Tennessee ‘97, and Chad White, Middle Tennessee ‘97, were leaders in the Provisional Chapter and Chapter. The Chapter initiated 30 men, 24 charter members and two subsequent initiate classes of four and two. The Chapter closed in 1999 because of low membership numbers.

The Delta Psi Provisional Chapter of Middle Tennessee was re-started in the spring of 2016 by Clint Crawford, East Carolina ‘12. Assistant Director of Chapter Development Jeremy Ried, Elmhurst ’07, provided their first staff visit following the expansion.

The Provisional Chapter was approved to charter in February of 2019 during the presidency of Jose Torres, Middle Tennessee ’16. The Chartering Ceremony took place on April 13, 2019 at the Maple Room in Murfreesboro. Past Grand Councilor Michael Young, Murray State ’94 was the Installing Officer. Nicholas Barnes, Middle Tennessee ’17 gave the invocation and President Jose Torres spoke on behalf of the Chapter. The University was represented by Jordan Borchert, Coordinator of Fraternity and Sorority Life. Chase Stewart, Marshall ’12, represented Fraternity staff. There were 65 people in attendance.


Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Chadwick C. White 1997 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year