University of Delaware


Neward, DE

Newark College, founded in 1833, was renamed Delaware College in 1843. It became the land grant college for the state under the Morrill Act of 1868 and became the University of Delaware in 1921.

An interest group at the University of Delaware was formed in the fall of 1988, led by Ralph Spagnolo, Stockton ‘85, who was attending graduate school at the University. The group grew to 15 members by the end of the academic year. In 1990, the interest group reached 28 members but colonization was delayed by the lack of University recognition. The interest group continued to make progress under the leadership of its president John Bear, Delaware ‘91, and reached 60 members in March 1991.

Presentations were made to the InterFraternity Council, seeking recognition on several occasions, by Jeff Schwind, Toledo ‘78, in April 1991, and by Steve Zizzo, Illinois ‘84, in the fall. Initiation of several members of the interest group took place on April 26, 1991.

A chartering petition was submitted August 25, 1991. In December of 1991, the interest group of 50 members had sought and obtained IFC recognition. The Chapter was chartered in ceremonies on December 14, 1991. Christopher Sharkey, Delaware ‘91, was Master of Ceremonies and Executive Vice President John Chaney, Indiana ‘67, John Luckenbill, Stockton ‘84, and Grand Senior President Charles Vohs, Penn State ‘75, were principal speakers. The Chapter initiated 84 members through April 1995.

An expansion effort led by Fraternity Staff member Seth Melchor, Bowling Green ‘10, was proven successful as 77 men went through the Pledge Ceremony. Cory Ryan, Wake Forest ‘10 initiated the re-founding fathers in January of 2014.

On September 14, 2014, the Delta Pi Chapter was re-chartered. The Ceremony took place at the Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel. Matt Maurer, Bowling Green ‘03 served as the Keynote Speaker. Fraternity Staff member Danny Miller, Alpha Epsilon Pi Fraternity, assisted with the Ceremony. The Chapter President at the time of chartering was Jordan Naft, Delaware ‘14. Bob Moore, Delaware ‘92, was the oldest living alumni present and has since served as the Grand Chapter Advisor to the Delta Pi Chapter.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2016
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2015, 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Robert A. Moore 1992 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jordan Skylar Naft 2014 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Corey Michael Weiner 2014 Undergraduate Hall of Fame