Grand Valley State University


Allendale, MI

Grand Valley State College was founded in 1960 and became a university in 1985. By 1995, it enrolled 15,000 students emphasizing a liberal arts curriculum.

An interest group was organized by Director of Expansion D. Todd Harris, UCLA ‘90, in the spring of 1994. Todd Harris and Glen Olsen, Bowling Green ‘92, recruited an interest group of 18 men which held an initial meeting and elected officers on April 17, 1994. Jonathan Heyboer, Grand Valley ‘96, was elected President. These men adopted the mission statement: Building a diverse brotherhood through leadership, service, and scholarship. They sought members who were actively involved on campus, in the community, and in organizations beyond Greek life. The group grew to 38 men and the colonization of the Grand Valley State Interest Group took place at the Holiday Inn, Grand Rapids, Michigan, on March 25, 1995. 

The Colony received Grand Valley State University awards of Greek Man of the Year to Jon Heyboer; highest Greek GPA. (3.80) to Kris Cooper; Most Benefit to a Philanthropy Program, Victor Reiber, Vice President; 3rd place in Homecoming; 2nd place in Laker Daze; 1st Place in Greek week. 

In the fall semester of 1995, the Colony won its first of five consecutive homecomings. Also during this semester, brothers Josh Heyboer and Aaron Smaka developed the idea of cycling around Lake Michigan to raise money for Canine Companions for Independence. This event was later called “Cycling for Independence,” and continues to be a powerful annual event that demonstrates the organization’s true dedication to the value of charity. By the end of 2008, the Chapter has raised nearly $50,000 for CCI and has had two dogs named “Valley” in honor of the Chapter’s commitment to the charity. The tradition has carried through the Chapter and is still alive today. It has become a 1,200 mile, eight day circuit of the lake. In August of 2010, 14 Delta Phi brothers raised over $10,000 for the charity. At the north end of the circuit, the brothers have been joined in the bike ride by members of the Delta Beta Chapter at Northern Michigan University.

Jamie Grant was President from December 1995 to December 1996. In December 1995, a petition to charter was submitted to the Grand Council. The petition was approved and its approval was announced during the 1996 Academy of Leadership. The charter members were initiated on March 24, 1996, and the Delta Phi Chapter was installed during a banquet on March 25, 1996.

Jamie Grant, Grand Valley ‘96, and Matt Geik, Grand Valley ‘97 served as Undergraduate Grand Councilors. Jonathan Heyboer, Grand Valley ‘96, served as expansion consultant on the Fraternity staff. Matt Mattson, Grand Valley ‘96, Dylan Dunne, Grand Valley ‘10, and Bryan Proctor, Grand Valley ‘96, have also served on the Fraternity Staff. Bryan Proctor, Grand Valley ‘96, served as General Counsel to the Fraternity and on the Grand Council. At Grand Chapter 2012, Brother Proctor was elected as Grand Senior President, the first member of Delta Phi Chapter to hold the position, and the first from a Michigan chapter since George Trubow, Michigan ‘53 , was GSP from 1974-1976.

The Chapter adopted a new Constitution in 2002. Its stated mission is: to build a diverse brotherhood through leadership, scholarship and service. To create lifelong relationships based on mutual love, respect and support. 

The Delta Phi Chapter at Grand Valley was closed on January 15, 2020.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2017
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018, 2012 
Grand Senior President's Cup 2011, 1998
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2010 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Alex James Brizard 2011 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Thomas D. Coy 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
Dylan Andrew Dunne 2010 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
John Robert Govan 2012 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Jonathan T. Heyboer 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
Matthew Gilbert Mattson 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
Barry Alan Olson 1997 Delta Beta Xi Award
Bryan K. Proctor 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award
Benjamin Edward Rapin 1996 Delta Beta Xi Award