Lock Haven University


Lock Haven, PA

Brian Jackson, Penn State ‘83, transferred to Lock Haven in the Fall of 1985, and organized the interest group. By April 1986, the group had grown to twenty-nine members and on May 5, 1986, they petitioned Alpha Sigma Phi for colony status. The first Pledge Ceremony occurred on May 25, 1986 and formal colonization took place on September 27, 1986.  Grand Senior President Robert Sandercox, Bethany ‘51, Grand Province Chief Otto Sonder, American ‘47, Grand Province Chief John Luckinbill, Stockton ‘84, and undergraduate members of Upsilon, Gamma Rho, Beta Xi and Alpha Psi attended the colonization banquet.  “Phi Zeta Colony” was the newsletter of the colony.

Forty-one charter members of Delta Nu were initiated at Upsilon Chapter’s house on November 20 ‘21, 1987, and the chapter was installed by Grand Senior President Robert Sandercox, Bethany ‘51, on November 21, 1987. Executive Director Rob Sheehan, Jr., Westminster ‘76, and Director of Chapter Services Randall Lewis, Oregon State ‘81, attended. David Claussen, Iowa State ‘84, coordinated the event for the Fraternity staff. Stuart Spizak, Westminster ‘78, was the chapter’s first Grand Chapter Advisor. The chapter obtained a house accommodating four men at 29 North Fairview St. The chapter newsletter is The Talisman Times.

The chapter won the Manigault Award for Scholastic Achievement in 2010, the Service Award in 1988, and the Tomahawk Award in 1992.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022, 2012 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2018, 2017 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2019

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Spencer Philip Gogol 2017 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Matthew John Henry 2016 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Barry S. Peters 1989 Delta Beta Xi Award