East Carolina University


Greenville, NC

East Carolina was founded in 1907 to train teachers for schools in the area.

Nu Chi colony was formed in early 1978. Ben Ball,Wake Forest ‘75, was the moving force in the development of the colony.  Delta Eta Chapter was installed on December 8, 1979. Jay Morris, East Carolina ‘79 was first president of the chapter, and accepted the charter from Grand Councilor Peter Tourtellot, American ‘57. Grand Marshal Evin Varner, Presbyterian ‘58, presented the principal address at the installation banquet.

The chapter house was located at 422 West Fifth Street. Brother Craig T. Stanley, East Carolina ‘85, headed a drive in the early 1990’s to raise $30,000.00, as down payment on a permanent chapter house. Bernie Bullard, East Carolina ‘79, served as Assistant Grand Province Chief. The chapter became inactive in 1998 having initiated 276 men.

In the 2011 semester, Clinton Crawford ‘12 contacted Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters about restarting the Alpha Sig chapter at East Carolina. An interest group was formed and in the Spring of 2012, Assistant Director of Expansion and Growth Jason H. Nolen-Doerr, Murray State ‘05, led an expansion effort on campus. Nolen-Doerr, with assistance from the interest group, recruited a record-setting 67 men as “Founding Fathers” of the group. The Pledge Ceremony for the new group was held on February 9, 2012. The group attained colony status in the 2012 spring semester and were initiated on April 14, 2012.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2016, 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

David D. Aday 1990 Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year