Elmhurst University


Elmhurst, IL

Elmhurst College was founded in 1871. The College’s first baccalaureate degrees were granted in 1924. Enrollment in 1996 was 1,700, with 595 men. The College offered 50 majors, taught by 97 faculty members. 

A group of seven students at Elmhurst College, led by Phil Inglis, contacted the Fraternity about the possibility of expansion in March 1995. Colonization at Elmhurst College occurred on December 3, 1995, when 14 men were new members. John Gibson, Indiana ‘85, presented the colonization certificate. In March 1, 1996, Phil Inglis was President of the Elmhurst Colony. At that time, the Colony was at campus-average size and it had the endorsement of all campus officials. Membership at the time the petition was submitted was 12 members. On recommendation of Steve Zizzo, Illinois ‘84, the petition was approved. The group was chartered on April 28, 1996. It was founded by ten men, Michael C. Aronow, Quintin D. Backstrom, John W. Barr, Paul W. Green, Terry Lee Harris, II, Philip D. Inglis, Chad E. Lambert, Marc A. Lass, Joe Vagnoni, and Nate Urban.

In 1998-99, the Chapter won the Elmhurst College Chapter of Excellence Award and the Best Philanthropy Award. In spring of 2000, the Chapter was recognized as the Elmhurst College Chapter of Excellence, for the highest grade point average of campus Greeks, and for outstanding philanthropy. Kyle McFarren, Elmhurst ‘98, was elected Greek Man of the Year. McFarren had served in a variety of chapter leadership roles including Vice President and IFC Representative for the Chapter, was a two-time captain of the Elmhurst College cross country team, was a four-year letterman in cross country and track, and was elected to Order of Omega. 

The fall 2004 new member class of 13 was the largest in Delta Chi’s history. That same year, Delta Chi won 
Highest On-Campus Active Members, New Members, and Overall GPA Awards for the year.

Jeremy Ried, Elmhurst ’07, has contributed on Fraternity Staff from 2011-present. He currently serves as the Senior Director of Alumni Engagement.

On July 1, 2020, Elmhurst College officially became Elmhurst University.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2013, 2012, 2010 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2021, 2017, 2016 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022, 2018, 2015, 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Carlos Alberto Cantu 2015 Citation - Grand Senior President
Tyler Alexander Espino 2012 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Alexander Michael Kefaloukos 2004 Frank F. Hargear Recipient