Rutgers University


New Bruswick, NJ

Rutgers University originated as Queen’s College in 1766. It became the land grant college of New Jersey.

Phi Lambda Delta was organized in 1926 and it was later known as Phi Lambda Sigma. It initiated as a faculty advisor Dr. Charles Conners, a member of a defunct local fraternity known as The Collegiate Brotherhood. Through Conners’ influence, members of the older local, which had been active from 1892 to 1906, were taken into membership in Phi Lambda Sigma in 1929. Phi lambda Sigma was chartered with 32 undergraduate and 23 (of 77 alumni) members in the initial initiation on March 27-28, 1931. At the time of its installation as Rho of Alpha Kappa Pi in 1931, the Chapter had a house at 26 Union Street, New Brunswick, New Jersey. It was remodeled to accommodate 24 members. Alpha Kappa Pi’s first father-son legacy was Strassberger, Rutgers ‘35, son of Strassberger, Col. Bro. ‘03, Rutgers ‘31.

With the end of World War II and the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi, the Chapter was re-designated as the Beta Theta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi and moved into new quarters at 40 Hardenbergh Street. In 1955, the Chapter purchased a new house at 106 College Avenue and remodeled by the Brothers to double its residential capacity. The major undertaking was known as “30 Weeks with 30 Greeks.” 

The Beta Theta newsletter, “Alpha Sig Triangle,” won the Chapter Newsletter Award in 1964. The Chapter won the Academic Achievement Award for 1990, and received the Greek Life Advisory Board #1 ranking from Rutgers in 1992. 

In 1995, the Chapter was placed on probation by the University, and in 1998, the charter was withdrawn. The chapter initiated 1030 members prior to its suspension.

Reorganization commenced in January of 2001. The group progressed slowly and membership reached 30 by the spring of 2006. Grades improved in 2005-2006, with the cumulative grade point average reaching 2.66 in March. In April 2006, a petition for re-chartering was approved. The Chapter was re-chartered on September 16, 2006. Grand Councilor Tilden, Binghamton ‘93, presented the charter; Dan Duncan, Ohio State ‘00, and Ryan Brown, Coastal Carolina ‘94, represented Fraternity Staff and with assistance from undergraduates from Alpha Tau and Alpha Rho initiated the charter members a the charter house. The chartering banquet marked the 75th Anniversary of the initial chartering of the Beta Theta Chapter. 

C. Russell Kramer, Rutgers ‘31, served as National President of Alpha Kappa Pi, and has received the Distinguished Service Award of Alpha Sigma Phi. Michael Hovermann, Rutgers ‘93, served on Fraternity Staff. James N. Bausch ’70 was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Yeear in 1972. Russell Kramer ’31, Nelson Wheaton ’32, Donald McKenzie ’55, Howard Kidd ’54, Mitchell Speert ’87, Joseph Kunigonis ’71, Paul Sweetwood ’75, and Sam Patel ’06 have received the Delta Beta Xi Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2022, 2016, 2015, 2012 
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2014, 2011 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

George C. Alexander 1967 Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Howard W. Kidd 1954 Delta Beta Xi Award
C Russell Kramer 1931 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Joseph J. Kunigonis 1971 Delta Beta Xi Award
G. Donald MacKenzie, III 1955 Delta Beta Xi Award
Sam J. Patel 2006 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mitchell S. Speert 1987 Delta Beta Xi Award
Paul C. Sweetwood 1975 Delta Beta Xi Award
Nelson E. Wheaton, Jr. 1931 Delta Beta Xi Award