University of Toledo


Toledo, OH

The Toledo University of Arts and Trades was founded in 1872. In 1884 the assets of the school were turned over to the City of Toledo for a Manual Training School.  In the years after World War I, schools of law, medicine, industry and education were added, and in 1928, it was renamed Toledo University. In 1967, the university became part of the state university system of Ohio, and was renamed the University of Toledo.

Zeta Omicron was established at Toledo University in December 1921. In 1924 the group was chartered as Gamma Chapter of Sigma Delta Rho. When Sigma Delta Rho disintegrated in 1935, the chapter petitioned for a charter in Alpha Kappa Pi. It was chartered as Alpha Delta of Alpha Kappa Pi in March 1937. Upon the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi in 1946, the chapter designation was changed to Beta Rho of Alpha Sigma Phi.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Fraternity granted the petition of students at Toledo University and its Theta Chapter was installed on May 15, 1948. The chapter became inactive in 1956 after initiating 91 members.

From the late 1940’s to through 1963 the Beta Rho Chapter house was located at 328 Winthrop Street, Toledo.

By 1963 the chapter house was at 1815 West Bancroft Avenue, where it remained until 1982. Beta Rho won 21 of 22 annual University intramural all-sports trophies, The Dean Parks Award, from 1963 through 1983.  In the late 1980’s, the chapter was located at 5238 Cowan Street. Brian Clegg, Toledo ‘87, was IFC president in 1989. Beta Rho Chapter was chosen to be one of the first eight fraternities to occupy houses in the University of Toledos new Greek Village, and the chapter moved into its new on campus facility in the Fall of 1990.

The chapter hosted the 1981 National Educational Conference. “Sig Net” is the chapter newsletter.

In Fall 2004 Mike Betz and Brad Adrian had participated in IFC rush but not joined an existing fraternity.  Betz had heard about Alpha Sigma Phi from Amy Steves, the daughter of an alumnus. Betz met with the Greek Life graduate assistant who encouraged him to visit past Alpha Sigma Phi staff member, Gordy Heminger, who worked at Bowling Green State University. Betz met with Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green ‘96, and after that meeting, Betz and Adrian decided to re-establish an Alpha Sigma Phi Chapter. In March 2005 an interest group was formed and became a colony on May 1, 2005 with 27 members. Heminger and two other Bowling Green alumni, Matt Humberger, Bowling Green ‘03 and Danny Loar, Bowling Green ‘04, facilitated a retreat for the new colony. Beta Rho Chapter was re-chartered on April 8, 2006. Members of Epsilon, Gamma Pi, Beta Omicron, Beta Zeta, Zeta, Gamma Zeta and Alpha Tau Chapters assisted with the initiation.

Beta Rho Chapter has won the Grand Senior President’s Award for 2010, The Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup in 2011, the Manigault Awards for Service and Philanthropy and Alumni and Parent Relations in 2010.  Beta Rho Chapter also won the Phi Pi Phi Awards for 2008, 2006, the Cardinal and Stone Award for 2008, the Tomahawk Award for 1957.

Richard Ritter, Toledo ‘91, Ohio Wesleyan ‘93, received the 1994 Hargear Award, was an undergraduate representative to the Grand Council in 1992-93; served two terms as Grand Senior President, 2008-2012, and served as Grand Junior President, 2006-08, and Grand Marshal, 2004-06. Brother Ritter received a Delta Beta Xi Award. Aaron Dau, Toledo ‘07, served as an Undergraduate Grand Councilor in 2009-2011. Jeff Schwind, Toledo ‘75, served as Assistant Executive Director of Alpha Sigma Phi and received a Delta Beta Xi Award. John B. Brandenberry, Toledo ‘37, was a long time Dean of the University and received the Delta Beta Xi Award Brian T. Soller, University of Toledo, Beta Rho Chapter ‘06, was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Year in 2007. William B. Weber, Jr., Toledo ‘76, was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Year in 1978. Chad G. Felgner, Toledo ‘90, Carl Tester, Toledo ‘52, and William Siering, Toledo ‘80 have also won Delta Beta Xi keys.  John Savage, Toledo ‘51, and Hon. Andy Douglas, Toledo ‘51, received the Distinguished Merit Award in 1984 and 1988, respectively.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Grand Senior President's Cup 2010
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2018, 2017, 2012 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

John B. Brandeberry 1937 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert Daniel Braun, MD FACOG 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
Aaron Thomas Dau 2007 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Andrew G. Douglas 1951 Distinguished Merit Award
Chad G. Felgner 1990 Delta Beta Xi Award
Kyle Douglas Rettig 2019 John Lyon Scholarship
Richard T. Ritter 1991 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Delta Beta Xi Award
John F. Savage 1951 Distinguished Merit Award
David Lee Scarberry 2013 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
    Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Jeffrey P. Schwind 1975 Delta Beta Xi Award
William J. Siering 1980 Delta Beta Xi Award
Carl Tester 1952 Delta Beta Xi Award
William B. Weber, Sr. 1955 Delta Beta Xi Award
William B. Weber, Jr. 1976 Delta Beta Xi Award