Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute


Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute was founded in 1824. Theta Nu Epsilon was founded at Wesleyan University as a sophomore society in 1870. It established its Lambda Chapter at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1882 (elsewhere stated to have been January 1884); it was the seventh fraternity to establish a chapter at Rensselaer. The Theta Nu Epsilon Fraternity was non-exclusive in its membership policies and loosely governed. At least 83 chapters of Theta Nu Epsilon existed with or without authorization of the mother chapter at various times. After 1908 the fraternity came into increasing disrepute with other national fraternities. In the 1920’s it reorganized and suppressed chapters which would not operate responsibly. The change in role, and its prior reputation, coupled with the hardships of the Great Depression led to inactivity of most of the Theta Nu Epsilon chapters by 1939.

In 1940 the Lambda Chapter of Theta Nu Epsilon, at R.P.I., petitioned for a charter in Alpha Kappa Pi. The petition was accepted and the group was charted by Alpha Kappa Pi as its Alpha Kappa Chapter in 1940.

In 1946 the chapter bought its house at 81 Belle Avenue. The chapter newsletter is “Cardinal and Stone”. The chapter received Alpha Gamma Upsilon Awards in 1974 and 1980.  Beta Psi Chapter also won the 2010 Manigault Award for Financial Management, and the 1981 and 1979 Tomahawk Awards. Jeff L. Martin, Rensselaer ‘07 and Todd Feathers, Rensselaer ‘05, won 2009 and 2006 Friends of Alpha Gamma Scholarships.

Karl G. Sharke, Rensselaer  ‘40, served as Grand Chapter Advisor for over 40 years, and received the Delta Beta Xi Award. Brother Sharke was also named a charter member of Rensselaer’s Column Club, an organization to honor those RPI alumni who have contributed materially to their chapters at the school. Bob Silverman, Rensselaer ‘76, Paul Stockert, Rensselaer ‘80, and David Kaiser, Rensselaer ‘75, have also received the Delta Beta Xi Award. James L. Caldwell, Rensselaer ‘55, received the 1989 Distinguished Merit Award.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2016 
Most Improved Chapter Award 1980, 1974

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Daniel R. Bauer 1994 Delta Beta Xi Award
James L. Caldwell 1955 Distinguished Merit Award
David F. Kaiser 1975 Delta Beta Xi Award
Karl G. E. Sharke 1940 Delta Beta Xi Award
Bob C. Silverman 1976 Delta Beta Xi Award
Paul A. Stockert 1980 Delta Beta Xi Award