Trine University


Angolo, IN

Trine University is a private non-denominational institution founded as Tri-State Normal College in 1884. It became Tri-State College in 1906 and Tri-State University in 1975. In 2008, Tri-State formally changed its name to Trine University. Alpha Delta Alpha arose in March 1924. Phi Lambda Tau was chartered by the State of Indiana on April 10, 1925. In 1929, the groups combined as Alpha Delta Alpha. On November 8, 1935, the Alpha Delta Alpha Fraternity was chartered as Alpha Beta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Pi. The chapter house was at 415 W. Gilmore Street. In 1946, the Chapter was re-designated Beta Omicron of Alpha Sigma Phi and at the time it was the largest fraternity on campus with 57 undergraduate members.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon was the third national fraternity to enter Tri-State College. Delta Epsilon chapter of Phi Sigma Chi secured its release from that organization and petitioned for a charter in Alpha Gamma Upsilon. Its petition was granted and Lambda of Alpha Gamma Upsilon was installed on May 8, 1949. The Chapter had the largest house on the Tri-State campus at that time. Sigma Delta Rho had its Iota chapter at Tri-State, from 1934 to 1935, when it disbanded nationally. Sigma Delta Rho’s last active chapters joined Alpha Kappa Pi in 1937.

The Chapter had a house in 1947 at 207 S. Superior Street in Angola, Indiana. It relocated shortly thereafter to 113 North Superior Street. On May 22, 1965, the Chapter retired the mortgage on its house. In the late 1960’s, the Chapter moved to 314 W. Broad Street. From 1969 to 1971, the Chapter was in a new house at 333 S. Summit Street. In 1973, the Chapter moved to 109 N. Superior Street. In 1974, Beta Omicron completed an addition to the house which increased live-in capacity to 20 men. By 1976, the Chapter had moved to 709 W. Maumee Street. The current chapter house is located at 110 S. Darling Street, Angola, Indiana. 

The chapter newsletter is “Seven Points,” which won the Chapter Newsletter Award in 1974. The alumni corporation issues “The Alumni Connection,” which won the Alumni Newsletter Award for 1990. Beta Omicron Chapter won Tomahawk Awards in 1992, 1966 and 1955.

Matthew J. Hittle, Trine ‘04, served as an Undergraduate Grand Councilor in 2006-07 and Mark Stone, Trine ‘73, was an Undergraduate Advisor to the Grand Council in 1977- 78. Wayne A. Champion, Trine ‘51, was Grand Chapter Advisor for over 20 years and received the Delta Beta Xi Award in 1967. “Champ’s Silver Circle” honors his memory. Terry Carter, Tine ‘51, has been a steady leader on the Alumni Corporation and was awarded a Delta Beta Xi key in 1989. Will Lasher, Trine ‘01, served on the Fraternity Staff.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2016, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010  
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Thomas R. Alspaugh 1970 Delta Beta Xi Award
John R. Anderson 1971 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jack B. Andrews 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
Terry L. Carter 1959 Delta Beta Xi Award
Wayne A. Champion 1951 Delta Beta Xi Award
Roy M. Erlandson 1935 Delta Beta Xi Award
William G. Golden 1977 Delta Beta Xi Award
John B. Goudy 1967 Delta Beta Xi Award
Sandeeb Kurian 2017 Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Paul S. Ruegamer 1976 Delta Beta Xi Award
Michael David Smercina 2004 Oak Wreath Recipient
Harry M. Speake 1947 Delta Beta Xi Award
Mark E. Stone 1973 Delta Beta Xi Award