Lehigh University


Bethlehem, PA

Lehigh University was organized in 1865 and opened in 1866. A living group called “Howard Hall” was formed by 18 students in February 1927 and the group acquired a house on Seneca Street. It was installed as Nu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Pi on January 31, 1930. The chapter moved into a new chapter house in January 1933. In 1946 the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi led to renaming the chapter Beta Epsilon of Alpha Sigma Phi. The chapter house through 1960 was at 514 Delaware Street.

In the mid 1950’s the chapter mounted successful fund drive and built its present house at Sayre Park. J. J. McDonald, later a trustee of the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation, was chairman of the fund raising committee for the Sayre Park house.

The chapter’s newsletter is “Bull’s Eye”. Beta Epsilon won Grand Senior President’s Awards for 1980-1982, 1982-1984, and 1984-1986. It also won the National Province Leadership Awards for 1970-1972 and 1972-1974. Beta Epsilon Chapter has ranked first in scholarship at various times including 1959-60 and 1979-80. In 2005 the chapter was placed on probation and required to operate its house drug and alcohol free. In September 2005, following further risk management and alcohol policy violations, the Fraternity suspended the chapter and its 19 undergraduate members.

Robert T. Sheen, Lehigh ‘30, was awarded the Distinguished Merit Award in 1982. Mark D. Kramer, Lehigh ‘78, was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Year in 1981. 12 alumni of the chapter have won Delta Beta Xi Awards.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Grand Senior President's Cup 1986, 1984, 1982

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Philip A. Blythe 1985 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard A. DiGiacomo 1965 Delta Beta Xi Award
George A. Dinsmore 1959 Delta Beta Xi Award
Edward S. Gallagher 1934 Delta Beta Xi Award
Woodrow H. Horn 1930 Delta Beta Xi Award
Laurence W. Hunter 1980 Delta Beta Xi Award
John J. MacDonald 1949 Delta Beta Xi Award
Henry G. Naisby 1935 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas E. Potash 1980 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert T. Sheen 1930 Distinguished Merit Award
Robert T. Sheen 1930 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles M. Slinghoff, Jr. 1959 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harry H. Williams 1947 Delta Beta Xi Award