Illinois Institute of Technology


Chicago, IL

Armour Institute of Technology opened in 1893. In 1940, it merged with the Lewis Institute in 1940, taking the name Illinois Institute of Technology.

On February 1, 1913, the Gamma Chapter of Beta Phi National Fraternity was chartered at Armour Institute of Technology. In 1919, the National Fraternity of Beta Phi dissolved, leaving the group as a local fraternity. In 1923, the group was chartered as the Gamma Chapter of Phi Pi Phi. 

Prior to World War II, the chapter house was located at 3131 South Michigan Avenue. The chapter house was taken for Navy V-12 training quarters in 1942. The Chapter had long dominated the intramural basketball competition, winning 16 consecutive titles beginning in 1917.

In June 1939, Gamma of Phi Pi Phi was re-chartered the Alpha Xi Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. In the late 1940’s, the Chapter was located at 3154 S. Michigan Avenue and moved to 3224 S. Michigan Avenue. in 1957. In 1963, the Chapter moved into a new house on college owned-land at 3361 South Wabash Avenue, Chicago.

The Chapter won three consecutive Grand Senior President’s Awards in 1964, 1966, and 1968, and a fourth in 1976. The 1964 Grand Senior President’s award was accepted by then undergraduate member Thomas C. Wajnert, Illinois Tech ‘61. Theodore Belytschko, Illinois Tech ‘61, and Judson Althoff, Illinois Tech ‘91, were Alpha Sigma Phi Scholars of the year in 1964 and 1994, and Althoff was an Undergraduate Grand Councilor, in 1993-94, and won the Frank F. Hargear Award winner in 1993. Alpha Xi Chapter won National Province Leadership Awards in 1968 and 1970.

The Chapter assisted with expansions at Indiana (Gamma Chi), Loyola (Delta Alpha) and Northern Michigan (Delta Beta) Universities.

From the late 1990’s to 2006, the Chapter had a history of risk management policy violations, and its housing corporation developed a debt of over $150,000.00 to the Illinois Institute of Technology for unpaid lease installments and damage repair charges on its on campus house. Notification of impending charter revocation motivated alumni, and in turn, debt and undergraduate behavior problems were resolved. The chapter newsletter “32nd Street Sentinel,” was replaced by “The Oak Wreath.”

James Fitzpatrick, Illinois Tech ‘47, was a longtime leader of alumni support for the Chapter and served on the Grand Council of Alpha Sigma Phi. Michael Coccia, Illinois Tech ‘42, also served on the Grand Council of Alpha Sigma Phi. Otto Kuehn, Gamma of Phi Pi Phi ‘23, served as National Secretary and Executive Secretary of Phi Pi Phi from 1933 to 1937. Thomas C. Wajnert, Illinois Tech ‘61, served as a Trustee and as Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation and was awarded the Distinguished Service Award in 2001.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2021, 2019, 2018, 2013, 2012, 2011 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2016, 2014 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1976, 1968, 1966, 1964
Most Improved Chapter Award 2011
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022, 2015 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Judson B. Althoff 1991 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Michel A. Coccia 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
Theodore A. Dahlstrom, Jr. 1958 Delta Beta Xi Award
James V. Fitzpatrick 1947 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert J. Freund 1944 Delta Beta Xi Award
Kenneth C. Hudson 1952 Delta Beta Xi Award
Edward C. Kokkelenberg 1954 Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Christopher Chi Lung Lee 2007 Delta Beta Xi Award
James C. McMahon, Ph.D. 1978 Delta Beta Xi Award
George M. Morrissey, Esq. 1962 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harald C. Mueller 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
Forrest C. Neil 1945 Delta Beta Xi Award
John S. Peterson 1948 Delta Beta Xi Award
Otto S. Peterson 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
Norman S. Schmitz 1943 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas T. Singer 1950 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas C. Wajnert 1961 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Justin Alan White 2009 Undergraduate Hall of Fame