Purdue University


West Lafayette, IN

Purdue University was founded in 1869 and its first class graduated in 1874. The Euphemian Club, initially known as Phi Beta Epsilon, was organized by five students at Purdue University in the fall of 1926, and recognized by the University on October 27, 1927. It changed its objective from being an honorary association to a social fraternity in January 1928. Louis Neubacher was an early leader of the organization. The Euphemian Club was chartered as Phi Chapter of Phi Pi Phi on May 17, 1930. On October 21, 1939, Phi Chapter of Phi Pi Phi became Alpha Pi of Alpha Sigma Phi with 45 charter initiates.

The first club house was on Vine Street. The chapter house from 1929 until 1966 was located at 218 Waldron Street. Von Roy Daugherty, Purdue ‘39, was President of the Purdue Alumni Corporation and kept Alpha Pi alive through World War II. The Chapter headed the drive for a uniform national new member manual in 1948 and William Holmes, Purdue ‘44, led the committee that drafted the manual. In October 1950, the mortgage on the Waldron Street house was satisfied and burned. In the late 1950’s, a need for larger quarters was apparent and the housing corporation bought an adjoining lot to the 218 Waldron house at 220 Waldron Street.

In 1963, Alpha Sigma Phi was one of 12 “Greek Letter” groups allocated a lot on a new Fraternity row on campus. The Chapter launched a building program and broke ground on a new chapter house on October 8, 1965. Alpha Pi Chapter moved into its present house at 951 David Ross Road, Lafayette, Indiana, on September 4, 1966.

Alpha Pi won the National Province Leadership Award for 1966-1967. The newsletter, “The Grapevine,” won chapter newsletter awards in 1981, 1972 and 1973. In 1976-78, the Chapter won the Service Award. Alpha Pi won the Tomahawk Award in 1990.

After years of declining membership, risk management concerns and poor academic performance, Alpha Pi alumni contacted Fraternity Headquarters about a re-start. With approval from the alumni and University, Fraternity Staff member Seth Melchor, Bowling Green ‘10, led a re-organization effort during the fall semester of 2014. On November 9, 2014, Alpha Pi initiated 49 men into the Mystic Circle and has once again re-joined the ranks of an active chapter in good standing of Alpha Sigma Phi.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2019, 2012 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1974, 1972
Most Improved Chapter Award 2022, 2012
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022, 2017, 2016 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Eric N. Allen 1971 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert A. Allen 1943 Delta Beta Xi Award
Gary J. Atkinson, CFP 1973 Delta Beta Xi Award
Buford H. Byers 1949 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Ralph P. Cochran 1944 Delta Beta Xi Award
John W. Dant, III 1982 Delta Beta Xi Award
Von Roy Daugherty 1939 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ronald W. Dollens 1965 Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert J. Hallett 1964 Delta Beta Xi Award
Luther M. Hays 1955 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert A. Henthorn 1983 Delta Beta Xi Award
William H. Holmes, Jr. 1944 Delta Beta Xi Award
David J. Howard 1983 Delta Beta Xi Award
John T. Kauffman 1943 Distinguished Merit Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
John Robert Loub 2020 Alpha Pi Master Scholarship
    Frank F. Hargear Recipient
    Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Stan N. Miller 1964 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Varner Distinguished Service Award
Donald R. Morgan 1957 Delta Beta Xi Award
Chad A. Peters 1995 Delta Beta Xi Award
Gregory A. Sinise 1970 Delta Beta Xi Award
Robert N. Sum 1952 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles E. Taylor 1942 Delta Beta Xi Award
Jason Gage Valentine 2001 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year