Missouri Valley College


Marshall, MO

Missouri Valley College was founded at the culmination of a 15 year fund drive and opened with a faculty of seven and enrollment of 91 in the fall of 1889. The Tri C-Club formed as a local fraternity at Missouri Valley College in 1927. In 1932, the name was changed to Alpha Delta Kappa Fraternity. Under the leadership of Dr. Charles Gerkhe, who joined the Missouri Valley faculty in 1943, the group petitioned Alpha Sigma Phi. The petition was granted and Alpha Delta Kappa was chartered as the Alpha Omicron Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi in 1945. The Chapter designation had originally been assigned for Omicron of Phi Pi Phi at the University of Mississippi, however, the group did not meet installation requirements and closed during World War II.

In 1950, additions of a chapter room and club room were made and a front lounge added in 1954 expanded “the big white house” at Black Hall. Dr. Charles Gehrke, Missouri Valley ‘45, was first President of the Alpha Omicron Chapter Corporation. A chapter house on college land was constructed in 1962. The new chapter house was named the “John L. Blackburn House” in 1970.

Enrollment at Missouri Valley College has been small and the Chapter has faced periods of limited recruitment success. At other times, Alpha Sigma Phi has been a leading organization on the campus and a strong chapter. In 2010-11, the Chapter emerged from a time of lean operations with a recruitment class of 13 men and an organization of a chapter council.

The Chapter won Service Awards for 1970-72, and 1954-56, and the National Province Leadership Award for 1968-70. The Chapter won Tomahawk Awards for 1960 and 1971. The Chapter issued a newsletter titled “The Spirit of Alpha Sig,” which won the Chapter Newsletter Award for 1970-72 and 1954-56. Alpha Omicron Chapter won the Summa Cum Laude Award for 1961-62, and 1960-61.

Bob Guzman, Missouri Valley ‘76, was student body president in 1976-77. Gary Forney, Missouri Valley ‘68, served on the Fraternity Staff. Dr. John L. Blackburn, Missouri Valley ‘49, served as Grand Senior President, Grand Junior President and a Grand Councilor for Alpha Sigma Phi. In addition, he was the Dean of Students at the University of Alabama and received the Gold Medal Award of the National Inter-fraternity Conference in 1990. Brother Blackburn also served as a trustee on the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation and received the Distinguished Service Award in 1995. Richard Sanders, Missouri Valley ‘62, served as the Grand Treasurer, Grand Secretary, Grand Junior President and Grand Councilor of Alpha Sigma Phi.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2017, 2015, 2013, 2012 
Grand Senior President's Cup 1972, 1970, 1960
Most Improved Chapter Award 1996
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2014 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Michael Allan Bell 1991 Delta Beta Xi Award
    Dr. Otto L. Sonder Advisor of the Year
John L. Blackburn 1949 Varner Distinguished Service Award
    Delta Beta Xi Award
Scott Eric Brumburgh 1964 Delta Beta Xi Award
John R. Campbell 1959 Delta Beta Xi Award
Tommy G. Curry, CPA 1960 Delta Beta Xi Award
Charles W. Gehrke 1945 Delta Beta Xi Award
Thomas E. Leuther 1978 Frank F. Hargear Recipient
Albert Macias 1990 Delta Beta Xi Award
Cheryl Ray Montague 1981 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard G. Poland 1946 Delta Beta Xi Award
Kent G. Porter 1974 Delta Beta Xi Award
Virgil W. Rabe 1964 Delta Beta Xi Award
Richard S. Sanders 1962 Delta Beta Xi Award
Matt Charles Tramont 2011 Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Chuck Victor 1981 Delta Beta Xi Award
Ralph E. Wienke 1950 Delta Beta Xi Award