Carnegie Mellon University


Pittsburgh, PA

The Carnegie Institute of Technology opened in 1900 and continues as the name of the engineering school of Carnegie Mellon University. The institution merged with Mellon University in 1967 to become Carnegie Mellon University.

Iota Epsilon Delta Fraternity was organized on Thanksgiving Day, 1915. It was the first non-departmental fraternity at Carnegie Institute of Technology. The local suspended operations from April 1917 to September 1919, due to World War I. The chapter’s first house, obtained in 1922, was at 5601 Wilkins Avenue, Pittsburgh. Iota Epsilon 

Delta was installed as Alpha Gamma Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi on March 28, 1925. Grand Junior President Benjamin Clarke, Michigan ‘10, and George McDonald, Chicago ‘20, were the installing officers. Presidents of Delta, Zeta, and Upsilon Chapters attended the installation. In the 1930’s the chapter relocated to 4903 Forbes Street. The chapter role grew to 125 names by 1935 when the last initiation was held. Alpha Gamma Chapter surrendered its charter in 1936.

The Alpha Sigma Phi Foundation awards an annual Friends of Alpha Gamma Award to the leading undergraduate science and technology scholar in the Fraternity. Two initiates of the chapter have received the Delta Beta Xi Award. William H. Scheick, Carnegie ‘25 was Executive Director of the American Institute of Architects.

Expansion efforts led by Layton Piver, Chico State ‘11 began in fall 2014.

The Alpha Gamma Chapter at Carnegie Mellon University re-chartered on April 24, 2015. The ceremony took place at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center. The keynote speaker was Grand Councilor Josh Orendi, Bethany ‘96. Staff member L.T. Piver, Chico State ‘11, assisted with the ceremony. Alpha Gamma’s Grand Chapter Advisor Troy Fornof, Slippery Rock ‘90, was in attendance. Alpha Gamma’s President at the time was Philip Farr, Carnegie Mellon ‘14.

Records show award name and year(s) received.

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup of Distinction 2016, 2015 
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup of Distinction 2019
Most Improved Chapter Award 2019
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup of Distinction 2022, 2017 

Records show brother's name, initiation year, and award received.

Leroy L. Byerly 1925 Delta Beta Xi Award
Harold H. Wilson 1925 Delta Beta Xi Award